The NEW NaNoWriMo

The end is near, my friends, so I thought I should wrap up a few loose ends and announce an exciting new challenge.

NaNoWriMo

Did you complete the challenge? All 50,000 words of it?

I did not.

I managed about 13,000 words which amounted to an almost complete second episode of my ghost stories series. Woohoo! I’m definitely happy about that progress, but I fell short of my goal (a completed episode). I plan to finish up this month, and move forward on the next episode at the beginning of next year. My ultimate goal is to self-publish four to five episodes by Halloween 2016.

And I know I can do it. If nothing else, that’s what NaNoWriMo teaches us. That even if we say we don’t have time to write, the reality is we do. The key is making writing a priority and following through.

Somehow, during NaNoWriMo, the collective energy of thousands of other novelist going at it permeates the ether, traveling with the mighty trade winds around the world. If you reach up, that electric charge can inspire you to action.

So let’s do it again.

NEWNoWriMo

In February 2016, join me and my writing buddy, Joe Bailey, on another writing challenge. We’re calling it the NEWNoWriMo.

(Get it? My initials (N.E.W.) along with the Novel Writing Month moniker?)

Rather than go for 50,000 words, however, we’ll be going for a more modest word count. For me, it will be 15,000. For Joe, it will be an accomplishment just to see him open up the word processor!

And you can, too.

What will be your NEWNoWriMo?

Join us as we attempt to capture some of that NaNoWriMo magic and become productive writers for a month other than November. We’ll have badges to share and we’ll be able to track our collective progress via a public Google Document. In addition, you’ll get daily quotes and encouragement from me in the form of blog posts.

I’ll give more guidance and information as we near the start date. Until then, check out Writer’s Digest How to Prepare for NaNoWriMo.

P.S. There will be prizes! Lots of prizes!!!

9 thoughts on “The NEW NaNoWriMo

Get it out of your system

