All We Have Is Time

When you think about it, there’s really only one thing we have in this universe we can claim as our own: Time.

Everything else is fickle and transitory. One day a pauper, the next a king. You never know what tomorrow will bring except, you guessed it, more time.

But how to manage it?

In order to realize your NewNoWriMo goals, taking a few minutes of your precious time today to schedule your writing in February can be critical.

Since last week’s NewNoWriMo article was so long, I’m going to keep this one short and easy. Here’s a list of time management tips I use. I’ve also gleaned some of the best from the internet. Try a few or all of them.

  1. Write during your most productive time of the day. If that happens to be at 4am, set yourself up so you can do that.
  2. Put it on your calendar – with a pen. Block out an hour or two on your daily calendar for your writing, like you would for a class or doctor’s appointment.
  3. Share your time commitments with close family members so they know you are busy during those times.
  4. Put up a “DO NOT DISTURB” sign, if needed.
  5. Ignore your phone and email. Answer the phone/emails outside of your writing time.
  6. Disconnect from the internet. You can do it. Just pull the cable out of your desktop or turn off the WiFi on your laptop.
  7. If you find yourself distracted during your allotted time slot, consider using a timer to keep you on task.

In case you were wondering, here’s what my weekly, writing schedule will look like in February, 2016:

  • Sunday – 4 hours, anytime
  • Monday – off
  • Tuesday – 2 hours, 7am to 9am
  • Wednesday – 1 hour, 8am to 9am
  • Thursday 2 hours, 7am to 9am
  • Friday – off
  • Saturday – 2 hours, anytime

That’s a total of 11 hours a week! If I manage to crank out 500 words an hour, that’s 5,500 per week or close to 22,000 words for the month. If I can do it, you can do it.

Until next week, write well.

Posts on NewNoWriMo:
11 thoughts on “All We Have Is Time

  1. Disconnecting from the Internet is key, isn’t it? Though I don’t literally disconnect because I refer to an online thesaurus and Google various things, I try not to enter any social media while I’m working on my manuscript. Too distracting.

    1. It is very hard for me to ignore it when I know it is available. But if I just unplug (it is easy to get at in my home office), it’s just not available and I can concentrate!

    1. I like using a timer. Not for every session. Sometimes I just need to edit and let my mind wander, but when I need to get the words out, a timer helps. But sometimes I don’t need it at all. The words just come. I wish it was always like that.

Get it out of your system

