New year, new blogger

Jack Black as Nacho Libre, photo courtesy of Paramount Pictures
Jack Black as Nacho Libre, photo courtesy of Paramount Pictures

Hello Fellow Writers,

After six years of blogging, I’ve come to a realization: I’m not doing it right.

Oh, I suppose, I’m doing something right. I’m read by a small group of dedicated writers, whom, like me, are struggling to find their way to a satisfying writing life (whatever that means for you and whether that include publication or not). I appreciate my readership and every single comment or ‘like’ on my blog. (Thank you!)

Not only do I enjoy the attention, I’ve come to truly care about my fellow writers’ struggles. And swapping ideas and tips for great storytelling via this blog has been an unexpected boon. I’ve learned so much from you all, I have no idea how I’ll ever repay your generosity.

Wait, I know, visit your blog more often, right?

Right!

I can assure you that I will do that because now I’ll have more time to do so.

Why? you ask.

Because this here blog will now become my ‘author platform’. Which means I’ll be blogging less. And the focus will be different.

You see, I’m a fiction writer.

And fiction writers tell stories.

They don’t give out (poor) writing advice.

They don’t complain about other writers’ bad behavior.

And they sure as heck do not post pictures of their dog.

2012-01-14 020

Okay, that last one may not be true, but essentially what I’m trying to say is that if fiction writers want their fiction read, that’s where their energies should be focused. As should their blog.

So, the posts of this blog will shift radically. No more doling out of questionable writing advice and redundant industry news. I’ll be veering over to featuring my fiction: snippets of my stories and news of significant publication.

This change will undoubtedly mean I’ll lose many of my current readers. Why? Because you may not like my fiction writing. Even if you do, if you are anything like me, you probably like your fiction long and in bed. Hmmm, that didn’t come out right…

What I meant is that I have a hard time reading for ‘pleasure’, meaning fiction, while I’m sitting at my computer. I like to read stories while I’m prone on the carpet or in bed with a book (or nook) between my hands.

I’ll still be doing my books reviews. They’ll get posted over at SFFWorld.com, GoodReads and my other blog, The Atheist’s Quill.

But here…here I will stick to the worlds I create and the stories that spill from them.

If you leave me, I understand. I will not hold it against you. I will continue to visit your blog as often as I can.

If you don’t leave me, I’ll love you with the ferocity of a man in red underwear and pale blue tights.

You’ve been warned.

As always, thanks for reading.

26 thoughts on “New year, new blogger

  1. As Nacho would say, “Let’s get down to the nitty gritty.”

    Whatever you choose to post, I’ll be here… as long as all of your posts don’t start with, “I hate Phillip because…” Well, actually, those could be interesting and I WOULD stick around for those.

    Anyway, looking forward to your new content!

  2. I realised before I had too much filler. That’s why now I am posting 2-3 times a week at most. That and the fact that I don’t have time to post every day. It’ll definitely be great to see more snippets of your fiction. For a writer it has certainly been very short of errr fiction writing.

    Always good to read your blog though, Keep it up!

  3. I did the same sort of thing a while back…and then this last year ended up sort of…erm…not blogging much at all. BUT I am wanting to get back into it. Busy year ahead, but I miss the steady stream of words.

    Whether you pull a Scalzi and write about whatever or write about fiction or writing fiction or just walking the dog, I’m always happy to read your posts. I’m clearly not alone in that. 😀

    1. Yeah, I did notice your posts became fewer and far between… 😦 But I figured that meant you were being productive on your novels!

      Sometimes it is hard to know what to focus on. And because most folks who read blogs, do not read blogs for the fiction, it will mean fewer readers, in general. Which I completely understand. I don’t read fiction on blogs.

      I think I’ll end up doing a combo and see how it goes. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. My resolution this year is to visit my fellow bloggers and readers’ blogs. It can be hard to find time in the day, but I love reading what everyone has to say and I especially love reading other writers’ fiction.

    Best of luck with everything, I’ll be sticking around 🙂

    1. That’s a good resolution, but also a dangerous one. What I do is give myself a time limit. I go through my blog reader feed and pick out the titles/topics that interest me the most that day, and I only read those. I do try to hit all my blogging buddies at least once a week, but it really depends on the content they produce. Good, regular content means I come round more often. 🙂

Get it out of your system

