The Next Big Thing

How can I possibly do this post after this one?

Easy. I have no shame. And remember, I have a reputation to uphold (note subtitle of blog).

So, today, in all its inglorious radiance, I present to you fine and lovely readers…

Stop laughing. In an alternative universe where robot pigs will fly, it can happen.

S. C. Green of The Shadowed Quill is a dear sweet fellow that extended this invitation to me. He’s a full-time worker, full-time father and full-time husband with dreams of becoming a full-time author without coming off as being full of it. Currently he is in the midst of revising his first novel in hopes of shopping for an agent this fall. From week-to-week he shares his experiences in writing at The Parking Lot Confessional for all to gape at, point and giggle, or hopefully, commiserate. For all other random ramblings and musing, you can find him sullying the web at The Shadowed Quill.

Now…how does this thing work…

Ah, yes! I get to answer a series of questions about myself and my next book that will become an international best seller, winner of a Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and A Very Big Thing, indeed. Then I get to tell you about several other writers you should follow. Okay, folks, hold on to your hats!

What is the working title of your next book?

Dragon’s Heart

Where did the idea for your book come from?

This is gonna be embarrassing…do I have to answer this honestly? Okay, I will. I was dreaming about a singer. You know that MMA fighter turned performance artist Genki Sudo? Okay, so in my dream, I wanted to talk to this guy. You know, tell him how much I admired his work and his dance moves and…we’ll just leave it at that. Anyway, in my dream he morphed into some sort of warlord with all his deadly entourage around him and I had to tell him a story to keep myself from getting hack by his minions because I was pestering him. Yeah, I had to come up with a story. And it had to be a good one, else he’d just scoff at me, right? And off with my head, right? So, I came up with a story about a peasant-woman who had to fight a dragon to win back her daughter…

What genre does your book fall under?

Pure Fantasy

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Ooohh, funny you should ask. I have no idea. Let’s see…there are four main characters, all women. And the story spans about sixty years, so I’ll have to have young and old versions of each. For my main character, the peasant turned warrior, I give you Michelle Yeoh. For my princess turned slave and a murderer, I choose Fukatsu Eri. For my innocent child turned loving, but undeserving, Empress, I think someone like Ziyi Zhang would do. And for my jealous Empress that demands the heart of a dragon in return for a child, I think this chick, Lucy Liu, would do nicely.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

The only thing worse than losing your daughter is knowing what must be done to get her back.*

*Okay, I admit, that’s pretty skimpy, but I suck at any sort of synopses.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’ll search for representation once I’m finished, but if that fails, I’ll more than likely self-publish.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Still writing it.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Ooohh, good question. I’m not widely enough read to be able to say. I’ll leave that to my (future) agent.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Other than that crazy dream I told you about, what really got me interested in this project are the amazing feats people will go through to protect or secure their offspring. I don’t have children. Very early in our marriage, my husband and I decided not to have any kids, but we do have a dog. Even with him, I find myself thinking the most outlandish things when confronted with hostile humans or other animals. In my head, I’m ready to do anything – anything – to keep my dog safe. I’ll rip out genitals, gouge out eyeballs, and much more. Crazy, huh? Of course, I’ve never had to do any of those things, but I am prepared to do so. One day, I thought, heck, if I’m willing to do that much for my dog, what on earth would human parents do for their human children? Would they rip out the heart of a dragon?

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Dragon’s Heart is set in an Asian-inspired fantasy land, where Dragons are gods and women warriors rule.

* * *

Well, now that we’ve taken care of the delusions, it is time for me to point you to folks who actually might be the Next Big Thing!

Wilson Geiger

Wilson Geiger is a fantasy author who decided, at the ripe age of 41, that he’d better start taking this writing thing seriously. You can find Wilson’s works at wilsongeiger.com.

Emmie Mears

Student of history. Gamer. Language nerd. Displaced Celt. Emmie spends at least an hour a day preparing for or thinking about the zombie apocalypse. Future calamity notwithstanding, Emmie hunts stories in dark alleys and in stone circles and spends most nights listening for something that goes bump. Emmie lives outside D.C. with her husband, a husky puppy who talks too much, and a tabby who thinks she’s a tiger. She is currently mucking up the lives of demon-hunters and mythology professors for her current projects. Emmie is represented by Jessica Negrón of Talcott Notch Literary Services. Find out more at emmiemears.com

Susan Boulton

Ms. Boulton had the unusual distinction of arriving into this world  200 yards from where, 37 years before, Tolkien spent time thinking about hobbits. She has lived all her life in rural Staffordshire, and has a passion for the countryside, its history, myths and legends, all of which influences her work. Married with two grown up daughters, she now puts her over-active imagination (once the bane of both her parents and teachers) to good use in her writing. When not creating new worlds, she currently works as a Technical Support Officer in the Waste Management Department of  her local county council, dealing with recycling and the environment. In 2009, she signed with the Zeno Literary Agency. To sample some of Ms. Boulton’s excellent stories, visit Gentle, Parochial Horror.

G. Derek Adams

Mr. Adams has a story to tell you. A long story. A silly story. A sad story. A story that he hopes you will love enough to hate him for telling. It will also have plenty of minotaurs, rock and roll bards, sentient pickles, and all that other lovely, ridiculous fantasy stuff. Magic swords, barrow wights, true love, dragon’s fire, and a thousand-thousand wonders trapped in a child’s memory. It’s pretty preposterous, he admits. I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading his first novel, Spell/Sword, available soon at spell-sword.com.

* * *

So, who do you think will be the Next Big Thing?

9 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

Get it out of your system

