Win Some, Lose Some

I just got a really nice rejection letter from May December Publications.  If they were all like that…well, I just might get used to it! 😉

Here are my Duotrope stats as of this rejection:

Pending responses for last 12 months: 1
Submissions sent last 12 months: 8
Submissions sent this month: 0
Acceptance ratio for the past 12 months: 25.00 %
Congratulations! Your overall acceptance ratio is higher than the average for users who have submitted to the same markets.

Not too bad…I suppose…

However, Mother’s Curse, the story that just got rejected, has been rejected three times now.  I think that’s a big hint.  I’ll let this baby sit on my hard drive until I can figure out how to fix it.

I have one other story out waiting for a response for the Fat Girl in a Strange Land Anthology.  We’ll see how that goes.  It’s been more than two weeks, so I figure the answer is no (all my acceptances have been super quick, the rejections super slow – there’s a pattern), but I’ll wait until I get the official word before entering that into Duotrope.

Note that I have only submitted 8 stories in the last 12 months.  I’ve got to increase that amount, it seems to me.  I feel I should be doing at least one every month.  Before the year is out, I’d like to get at least four or five more stories circulating.

Guess that means I better stop messing around on this here blog and write.

Get it out of your system

