Stuck in the muck

Sometimes I forget I have a blog.

I mean, I know I have one, but I forget that I should probably blog two to three times a week.

I just noticed that my last post was on the 11th.  Ten days ago!

So now I am in a panic.  I must blog.  What to blog?  I don’t know.  I can’t think of anything.

Should I give my dedicated six readers more pictures of my dog?  (He’s so cute!  I know you love him.)

Should I write about the non-progress of my novel?  (I haven’t even decided whether I will ditch the effort or not.)

Should I write about upcoming BayCon2011? (So excited!)

Should I write about how I switched allergy medication and I can now smell…the homeless folks on my way into work?  (In certain situations, blessed are those who can’t smell.)

Should I write about the non-rapture event that is sweeping across the world? (It’s just too funny to ignore.)

Ah…whatever.  Here’s a video:

2 thoughts on “Stuck in the muck

    1. Ah! You are so good to me, thank you for asking.

      BayCon 2011 is a “general science fiction and fantasy convention, held in the San Francisco Bay area on memorial day weekend.”

      That’s what’s on the BayCon 2011 website and that’s pretty much all I know about it. The convention also has a writer’s workshop, which is why I decided to participate in this year’s convention. Plus, I thought it would be fun to see what all the hubbub is about conventions.

      After reading their progress report (http://www.baycon.org/2011/PR1.pdf), I realize there’s gonna be a lot going on in the realm of costumes and games. I’m not into wearing a costume, but I think it will be fun to see everyone else in costume. Games are not my thing either, but for a day or two, it will be a facet of the genre I would do well to learn more about.

      Plus, then, there’s the writer’s workshop. My afternoon of hell is scheduled for Saturday the 28th at 1pm. Three pro writers will be skewering three wannabes (me included, of course). I’m hoping that they’ll pick on the other two wannabes and just forget about me – we’ll see if I’m lucky!

      I’m thinking of ditching my current novel because it’s my first novel. I figure this is my “learning” novel and that now that I think I know what to expect, when I write my second, it will be easier. Well, maybe not easier, but at least…more…predictable. I guess. Plus, I hope that the more I write, the better at writing I’ll get. The thinking is that I can then go back to the first one and fix it. Or not. Depends. Still on the fence, I suppose.

      The thing is that my novel is spawned from a flash fiction piece I did based on a writing prompt: freedom.

      Someone commented on the piece, erroneously quipping, “Sounds more like a novel opening than a flash.”

      I’m a believer of non-belief and the setting of the flash lent itself to exploring religion/non-religion tolerance/intolerance themes, so I went for it.

      Almost two years later, and a rough outline for a story that will span seven books (first one written!), here I am wondering if that off-hand remark is really a stable platform to launch into something that will most likely eat my 4th decade. Especially, now that I know that all my flash fiction pieces sound like the beginning of a much larger story than a flash – a common mistake made my new writers trying to write flash fiction. (sigh)

Get it out of your system

