2017

Will be the year I publish.

I swear.

They* say not to commit to a goal one does not have complete control over.

Like: getting traditionally published.

One can’t control an agent or publishers. All you can control are your actions. So, you can set a goal to submit to agents or publishers, but it is up to them whether they pick you or your book.

But with self-publishing, it’s all on you.

So, that’s the plan. I’m really, for really reals, gonna self-publish my work this year.

I’ve committed to a project (Ghost Stories). I’ve hired an editor (Andrew Leon Hudson). I’m even talking to a graphic artist about developing an author brand and covers.

It is gonna happen.

Or I’ll waste a lot of money.

Clarification: if I spend money to get Ghost Stories out into the world and it flops, that is not a waste of money.

I see this as part of a life-long learning process. Figuring out all the moving parts of a successful book launch will not go smoothly. I suspect I’ll have to do a few of these before I get it right. I’m prepared for that. (Plus, the book might suck.)

What will be a waste is: once time, money, and heartache has been spent, I get cold feet and not go through with it.

So, the real goal is not to get cold feet.

That’s all I want to accomplish in 2017.

Oh, there are a lot more tasks on my list of things to do. Tons of shit. There’s all that book launch stuff that’s got to happen, let alone all the work I have to do to get the story in shape for publication. But in a nutshell, that’s what I really, for really reals, want to get done this year.

How about you? What’s the one thing you truly want to see get done in your writing life in 2017?


*The Internet

12 thoughts on “2017

Get it out of your system

