Goodbye, 2016

And good riddance.

Did 2016 end badly or what?

Wars raging throughout the planet, a backlash against minority rights, and no one liked what happened to Glenn on The Walking Dead  – no one.

And did it seem like more famous folk died this year than normal? Maybe it’s just the collective baby-boomer generation heading over the lip of the abyss, but it sure did feel as if we lost a lot in 2016.

So, I guess that means we have a lot to gain in 2017?

But before we get there, I’d like to review what I accomplished during this ill-fated year.

In the beginning…

In February of 2016, I hosted my version of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). But instead of doing it in November, we did it in February and I called it NewNoWriMo (for N. E. White Novel Writing Month – nifty, huh?). It was quite a success, if you ask me.

No, we didn’t have thousands of participants. But eleven of us strutted our stuff and made some words. Check out the results here.

I plan to do it again in 2017, so watch this space!

For the rest of the first half of the year, I pretty much worked on my Ghost Stories (a series of novellas set in Oakland, California about a gal who just can’t get it together).

Mid-year re-direction…

Sometime in August, after putting out the call for submissions for SFFWorld.com’s short story anthology, I got the bug to write a story about a map. And I did. Most specifically, about a map maker. The short turned into a novel. I finished it up during NaNoWriMo 2016. It’s called The Map Maker’s Dragon.

I’m not completely enamored with the story, but I plan to let it sit for a while and see how I feel six months down the line. If it still calls to me, then I’ll think about editing it.

The End of 2016

The final stretch of 2016 sees me finishing up my Ghost Stories series. After spending the latter half of 2016 away from it, I’ve come to really want to see this thing complete. I plan to self publish the series in 2017, and I’m even gonna hire an editor to help me make it the best.

All in all, though 2016 kind of felt like a bummer of a year, I also wrote a lot. Oh, and I also wrote two short stories that while not the greatest, are definitely blog-worthy. I’ll edit and post those sometime next year.

Until then, enjoy what remains of 2016 and best of luck in 2017.

 

11 thoughts on “Goodbye, 2016

  1. Right?! I’m of the same mind–good riddance, 2016. It’s been a hell of a year, in a trudging-through-the-muck kind of way.

    I’ll have to see what kind of shape I’m in come February–I might give NewNoWriMo a shot!

  2. Saying goodbye to 2016, and hoping for better in 2017 feels like watching your idiot crackhead neighbors move out finally, only to wonder who’s going to move in next. Let us hope for the best although something tells me it’s going to be a bumpy ride. But congrats on all the writing you got done!

Get it out of your system

