NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 7

I am woefully behind. So much, I am tempted to quit NaNoWriMo 2016.

I know I know. We’ve just begun! How can I abandon my efforts so early?

When I look at how many words I have to complete, it is just depressing.

By the end of today, I should have completed roughly 11,669 words. Doesn’t seem like much when I can easily churn out 2-3k a night if I’m really motivated. But…

I’m not motivated.

I can look on the positive side. I’ve written for seven days straight. Woohoo!

And I’ve managed to write 7,219 words. That’s nothing to sniff at. It is a fair amount and I’m quite proud of it.

But it is less than 11,669 words.

How you doing?

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 7

  1. Hello hello,

    I’m at 9427 and am dead-set on going on. Even if I end up with 25,000 that’s still a ot more than I would have done without NaNo.

    Come on. You can at least do as much as you can. Maybe you’ll hit two great days in a row.

  2. I blame work and the fact that I haven’t written a word that wasn’t a book review in … oo, a long time, but I … am at 1,653. And that’s only because I forced myself yesterday to write almost my quota, about 1,450. I’ll do better today, and this week, and so on. Just need to stretch the muscles and break bad habits.

    But I’m not motivated either.

    1. Yes – let’s blame work! The thing is that I felt totally motivated *before* NaNo started. I think it is the pressure of performing. I thought I could keep it from bugging me, but it must be bugging me. As you said, we’ll do better this week. No pressure, right?

  3. 🙂 I had the clever idea of aiming at twice the word count for as long as I could keep it up. Well, that was for two days. Then “things kept happening”, and I had to do my best to keep writing every day, inching my way forward.

    Anyway, I’m glad that I had a good start and pretty proud that I’m adding something daily, even if I haven’t reached the 10k yet.

    I do like the story, and actually it’s pretty fascinating to write/read because I haven’t outlined anything this time, I just know a little bit about the characters and the setting.

    As you say: No pressure. 🙂 Taking it as it comes, and enjoying the process.

Get it out of your system

