Submission Wrap Up

Happy Monday, Y’All!

I’m happy because our submission window for our upcoming anthology, You Are Here, has closed.

Really, it is both a sad and happy occasion.

I regret closing an opportunity for someone to submit a story. But like all good things, it came to its natural end. Plus, our submission window couldn’t stay open forever. At some point, we just had to stop.

In total, we got 77 submissions, including two from the anthology’s editors (one from me and one from Andrew Leon Hudson). We* have gone through about half of them, making the hard decision between rejection or acceptance.

It is incredibly hard to send those rejection letters. Almost as hard as receiving one. But someone’s got to do it. I try to make it as painless as possible.

Sending out an acceptance letter makes up for all the rejection letters. Though I am paying a pittance**, it is nice to reward someone’s sincere – and successful – effort to create an enjoyable story.

With close to 40 more stories to consider, we are far from finished. But I’m very happy with the quality, inventiveness, and breath of stories we have attracted to this project. It is truly inspiring and I can’t wait to share it all with you.

I’ll be posting more details on the anthology’s blogsite. So be sure to add it to your WordPress Reader or RSS feed, if you are curious.

URH-Centred

Until next time, gear up for NaNoWriMo! It’s just around the corner!


*We being myself, the aforementioned Mr. Hudson, Dag Rambraut – SFFWorld.com owner, and Rob Bedford.

**One of these days, my budget for these anthologies will increase – I hope!

Get it out of your system

