Day 14

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.”

—George Orwell


Howdy Folks!

The NewNoWriMo write-a-thons were a success!

Okay, maybe not exactly a success, but pretty close. The morning’s session, a live YouTube event, was attended by one – me! I was all by my lonesome. But I guess that was expected given that it was 9am (PST) on a Saturday morning…

Regardless, since I was writing alone, I got discouraged and canceled the event 30 minutes in. Which meant I only got in 610 words. Not bad, but not good either.

However, later in the evening, 7pm to 9pm, a non-NewNoWriMo participant did join me via Google Chat. Thanks a ton to Sean Betzer for joining me. With Sean, I got in 1,201 words! Collectively, Sean and I wrote over 2,000 words. I’m very happy with that progress and we hope to do the same next Saturday, the 20th of Feb.

So, if you are having trouble committing to your schedule alone, join us next Saturday when we try it again. Since we are doing this via Google Chat, I’ll need your Google email address (comment on any post and I’ll get your email that way). If you don’t have a gmail.com address, you can get a free account here.

Until then, keep writing and remember to record your daily word counts here: NewNoWriMo Tracking.

4 thoughts on “Day 14

    1. You know, once I got over the idea that I would be broadcasting my…homely mug, it wasn’t that hard at all. YouTube makes it surprisingly easy to do it. Too easy. Which is probably why there are so many YouTube channels. I might do it again, if folks ask me to or for something else. But for now, Google Hangout/Chat worked well. Join us if you can. You don’t have to be a NewNoWriMo participant to join in. 🙂

  1. Yes, I’d love to join you sometime for a write-in. I’m not participating in NewNoWriMo, but I have GOT to get back in the saddle and get some writing done. Count me in.

    1. Got your email Katrina! I removed it from your comment so that it wasn’t broadcasted to all the spambots out there. I’ll add you to our group chat. They’ll be two next Saturday. One in the morning and one if the afternoon. You can just ignore whichever one you can’t attend. 🙂

Get it out of your system

