Generating Content…or Not

As some of you may have noticed, I’ve dropped my commitment to this blog or, rather, blogging in general. It’s been a tough call for me, but in the end, it was just too easy to ignore my nodes in the web.

It’s not that I don’t like blogging, or interacting with you all, because I do. As a matter of fact, I love it. I learn so much from everyone, I should be handing out chocolates every time someone comes by*.

And it’s not like I have completely abandoned my blogs. I’m still blogging, but not on any self-imposed schedule.

The thing is, generating content is hard. Generating good content is even harder.

If you get the Book Doctors’ email newsletter, then I’m sure you got the same article I did in which they posit that not all authors need a blog.

And I agree.

Not because we can’t generate good content (because we can).

And not because we can’t keep to a schedule (we can do that, too).

But because we can’t do both – consistently.

What To Do?

Well, you can set a schedule and stick with it. And there are hundreds of websites you can visit to get blogging-topics to help you generate content. But that’s not what this post is about, so I won’t bore you with lists and mantras to stick by. Besides, I’m sure you all are way better at this blogging thing that I am.

What I do want to share is this notion:

Blogging doesn’t have to be a chore or a guilt-ridden task.

How does one do that?

Easy. Peasy. Give yourself permission to flag. Allow your blog to wallow. Okay, don’t let it go completely fallow, but a little wallowing in the mud never hurt no body. Blog on an irregular basis on the topics you love.

I admit, this strategy will probably not get you noticed by, well, anyone, but it will take one thing off your plate and allow you to breathe.

Enjoy this winter (or summer for those down under) season and check out my interview with Ches Smith about his new novel, Under the Suns, over on my review blog, The Atheist’s Quill.

Until next year, write guilt-free.

* When the techno-wizards figure out how to do that virtually…the sky’s the limit, baby!

18 thoughts on “Generating Content…or Not

  1. Personally, I think this is great advice. I have a tough time posting quality content on a regular basis too, especially with everything else going on in my life. And as a reader, I actually prefer blogs that operate that way. I don’t have time to read blogs all day, and there are so many I like to follow that I just can’t keep up with those that are constantly posting. And I’ve found that the ones that post constantly often don’t have all that much that’s worthwhile to say anyway.

    1. Just recently, actually. I think I changed it over sometime during NaNoWriMo while I was doing everything but writing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Oh, and do check out Under the Suns by Ches Smith. His debut novel is about an alien losing his religion. It’s a good book, and I think you might like it.

  2. I don’t know how, but I always manage to come up with something at least every couple of days. But then, I go looking for things to write about if I can’t come up with something. Couple that with a book review most weeks and two regular features (and now I seem to have got myself into writing serials on Sundays) means mine is pretty full most of the time.

    I realise that blogging about writing is taking me away from actual writing, but I think and hope I strike a good balance between self-promotion and generating that which I am trying to promote.

    Always good to see you back ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Never left, baby. I’m just *irregular*.

      (lol – that should be in a commercial for irritable bowel syndrome or something – or something!)

      And you know what, you keep your post relatively short. At least, the ones on writing. And I think that helps. Just get your point, give us your most helpful advice or tip, and allow us to move on.

      I waffle. I can be blunt, but not concise. Bad combo.

      1. Lol! Have you ever thought of writing slogans for a living?

        Yeah, I’m in the habit of limiting it to 700 words at most where and when I can. My book reviews come in typically at around 500 words.

        The only exception are the big features such as character studies, Origins of the English Language and stuff like that. They tend to come in at 1000 words minimum, typically 1500-1800. I split the Assassin’s Creed feature into two parts because that was about 3000 words in the end.

  3. Many, many moons ago, I did my first blogging adventure (about tech, not writing) and I learned quickly how hard it is to come up with good content on a regular basis. I came to the same conclusion as you did now.
    For my current blog I decided right away to not tie myself to a schedule. I will collect things and reblog/link posts that I like and I will write posts myself when I feel like I can say something worthwhile. There’s only so much time and so much writing energy in a day, I have to use that wisely and there’s no point in wasting anybody’s time with half-assed content for contents sake.

  4. I too have lagged behind on my writer blog. I have another blog geared toward marketing my artwork, and that takes up my time, as well as actually producing the artwork. The content for an art blog are a bit easier for me to add and improve upon, but the writing stuff isn’t. I still love writing, and want to finish my projects, but other more immediate (and income producing) pursuits have taken the front seat.

      1. The site is here http://angeladeriso.com/ My art isn’t selling too well, but I’m trying to make a better effort to market myself so it will at some point in the future. I’d like to be a full time artist, but with the way things are it’s not possible. So, I need a part-time job while chasing this goal. I know I produce decent artwork, but often you need more than that to manage higher sales. It’s hard, but I feel hopeful that things will eventually improve.

      2. You have some beautiful drawings, Lynn. I’m sure things will get going for you. But don’t feel bad. Many artist end up having a “real” job. I think it is about balance and finding your niche.

Get it out of your system

