State of the Writer

I figured it was time to do another one of these.

Hell, who am I kidding? I have nothing else to blog about so I’ll blog about me.

Random picture of a pelican
Random picture of a pelican

It’s half way through 2014, so let’s see how we are doing in terms of the goals I set out at the end of last year.

  1. Get Organized – This isn’t one of those things you can’t tick off and say, “Done!”Β It’s an ongoing thing. What I can say I’ve done is to create a spreadsheet with a list of the stories I’m working on. While it may not help me to keep on track, it is nice to look at it (I added lots of color).
  2. Novels – I’ve veered way off track with this one. Instead of finishing my nested dragon story and revamping my Spanish bat tale, I’m working on my Science Fiction novel about a woman forced to start a new species. Regardless, I have made some progress. I’m hoping to have it finished by the end of September.
  3. Short Stories – As I said before, my princess story sold to Mystic Signals for their August print edition, so I kind of consider my work is done in this department. But that’s hardly true. I wanted to finish at least three short stories this year. I got one out for my upcoming anthology (WW1 themed), but haven’t finished any others. Two more to go.
  4. Anthology – This year’s anthology is going well. I have almost 40,000 words of great storytelling to offer to the world, especially a very military-oriented story from our featured author, Elizabeth Moon. I’m afraid the other stories do not quite live up to her skill, but regardless, the collection is a fine thing.

That’s it. Those were all the goals I set for myself. There is, of course, all the reviewing and blogging that goes along with my writer’s life. I think I’ve read about 15 books or so this year, and have manged to review half of ’em. My blog posts are scarce, but hopefully that means I’ve writing more fiction.

Overall, I’m happy with my progress, though wish I could be doing more. I guess that will always be the case.

Did you list any goals at the beginning of the year?

9 thoughts on “State of the Writer

  1. Yeah, I was hoping to get my Romans novel complete by the end of the year but haven’t touched it in weeks thanks to a busy month or so. Now we have some lovely weather, I don’t want to get stuck inside when I am not working!

    1. Yeah, the weather is really nice here, too. I’m trying for activity outside in the morning (when the air is cool) and inside stuff in the afternoon. Hopefully, that’ll keep my in my writing chair.

  2. I’m always impressed by those of you who have so many different writing projects going on. I tend to stick to one, and that’s about all I can handle (not counting my blog). Good luck with everything. Sounds like you’re making good progress.

    1. Thanks for the luck. I’ll need it. πŸ˜‰

      I hope you are having a fun and productive time-off from your blog. I saw you wrote a limerick. I’ll go check it out soon. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m pretty much the same. Maybe more behind than you. I’m going to have to rewrite an awful lot of what I already have in my novel project. It sucks, but hopefully it will turn out better… if I can make myself write it!

    1. I know. It is so easy to just move on to other projects rather than fix the ones you’ve already completed.

      There’s a quote somewhere that says the best writing is re-writing, or something like that. Essentially, we must embrace revisions. Good luck with yours!

  4. I had some ambitious goals at the beginning of this year and that was to complete two novels… Right now, I’d be happy with one. πŸ™‚ I think it’s great that you’ve made the progress you have Nila. VERY excited about the anthology!! Hope you’re doing well overall.

    1. I am. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you get at least one of those novels out. But it is not too late to shoot for both. We still have a bit more than five months.

Get it out of your system

