Twitterverse

Yes, I know. I said I would not join Twitter.

But I did.

Never say never, eh?

Late last year, a fellow speculative-fiction writer (and contributor to my latest anthology), Michell Plested, interviewed me in a podcast. It was fun. If you get a chance to do one, you should.

Anyway, sometime after the interview, or maybe it’s in the interview, I can’t remember, Michell asked if I was on Twitter and I said, “No.”

It felt odd to say that. Like saying, no, I don’t talk on the telephone. Or, no, I don’t have a cell phone. Or, no, I’m not part of the human race…

I mean, when even the Maasai use modern technology, makes my aversion to social networks look kind of…well…stupid.

Or, at the most generous, awfully backward.

So, I joined. And, lo and behold, many of my internet-writer friends hang out over on Twitter, too.

If you haven’t taken the plunge, give it go. It turns out, it’s just another place on the internet to swap ideas while on the go. One thing it does have going for it is the limited characters. No one can bore you with long posts and the limitation forces you to get to the point as quickly as possible. I don’t think it will replace my blog, but it is another avenue to communicate with folks.

sand

Another advantage to Twitter are all the book announcements. Hugh Howey’s newest release, Sand, just hit Amazon over the weekend. Check it out.

If you’re on Twitter, I’m @n_e_white. Catch ya there!

6 thoughts on “Twitterverse

Get it out of your system

