State of the Writer

Happy Monday, Folks!

This is one of those posts in which I write of every thing going on in my writerly-world – including the kitchen sink.

 

By Auki

Okay, maybe not an actual kitchen sink, but you know what I mean, right?

Whether you do or don’t, let’s do this.

2013 Accomplishments

Anthology

Yay! We did it again, gang! Since I’ve been hyping this up a lot lately, I’ll leave it at that.

Shorts

I completed several (longish) short stories: Sky (5,000+ words), A Pirate Named Phacelia (5,000+ words), The Price of a Princess (10,000+ words), and The Emperor’s 13th Choice (10,000 or so words), plus a few other odds and ends.

I also got in a novella; G.O.D.D.S. at 35,000+ words.

Though not all are complete (meaning re-read/edited/critiqued/revised/polished), I am happy with my output this year.

Also, check out this awesome cover my writing buddy put together for one of my stories:

Price_of_a_Princess
Graphic Design by Joe Bailey, Artwork by Sandara

Cool, huh?

Podcast

I’m in a podcast. No joke!

Michell Plested, fellow indie author and podcaster, and I sat down one night over Skype and talked. And talked, and then talked some more. About the anthology.

I know, I know. You are over it. You want me to move on. I get it. But, I mean, it’s got my voice! How could you not be a tad curious?

I was curious to hear how bad I flubbed it. My voice is so nasal, and I’m pretty sure my tongue tripped about a gadzillon times. Oh well. Here it is: Get Published Issue #124.

Check it out and please do not hesitate to offer some suggestions or comments.

Other Stuff

Book Reviews

I am so behind on my reviews. I wanted to complete two reviews a month, but that rarely happened in 2013, though I did manage to get out a few. Here’s a list of my book reviews:

  1. Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines
  2. Second Shift by Hugh Howey
  3. Third Shift by Hugh Howey
  4. Kylie’s Heel by Susan K. Perry
  5. Wings of Fire (compilation) edited by Johnathon Strahan
  6. Artifice: An Identity Quest Story by Stifyn Emrys
  7. The Killing Moon by N. K. Jemisin
  8. When Women Were Warriors Catherine M. Wilson
  9. The Shadowed Sun N. K. Jemisin
  10. Dust by Hugh Howey
  11. The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley
  12. Hollow World by Michael J. Sullivan

I hope to get out at least two more before the end of this month, but no promises.

Haiku

Yes, rather odd of me to start in on the Haiku craze, but I liked my week-of-haiku. So much so that I thought I’d join in on Rob’s Surf Report Genre Haiku Challenge. (H/T to Laith’s Ramblings for alerting me to this challenge.)

This month is Epic Fantasy. Here’s my entry:

A youth emerges,

World’s end savior or not?

Let the dragon choose.

2013 Expectations/Set-Backs

Reject

I’ve sent out more of my work this past year and have accumulated quite a collection of rejection slips. Sad to say, but not one of my stories have garnered an acceptance – anywhere!

It is disheartening, but I will continue to write and submit. Eventually, someone will have to accept me, if only to get rid of me.

Word Count

My goal this year was to write 100,000 words. I’ve missed it by 16,718 words. So close…

Actually, if I count my blog posts, I am well over. Can I count my blog posts?

Scatterbrain

A friend once gave me a little green pin with an image of a pink brain on it and the word ‘scatter’ above it.

This one.

When she  handed it to me, and I took it, looked at it, a puzzled frown settling on my face, I honestly didn’t get it. Was she saying I, moi, was scatterbrained?

This year seemed worse. I don’t know if it is an age thing (just turned 43) or if concentrating on short stories this year allowed my brain to explore too many tangents. Either way, it was a chore to get myself to concentrate.

New Horizons

Organization

To combat by scatterbrained-ness, I recently downloaded yWriter. I’m hoping the use of a more advanced writing software will keep me focused. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Novels

I plan on finishing my dragon novel this year as well as revamp my failed  novel of 2012. Wish me luck!

Shorts, too

I promise to finish a few other shorts in 2014. I’m working on a re-telling of Brother and Sister that I really like. I hope you all will too.

Another Collection

And, of course, I plan on wrangling the good writers over on SFFWorld.com to produce another fine collection of speculative fiction short stories. Stayed tune for the theme and deadlines!

By the way, if you would like to take part, but do not hang out on the forum – that’s okay! All that is required is that you are a forum member. Sign up today. It’s free and you don’t even have to say “hi”.

cropped-2012-11-03-029.jpg

Whew! I think that’s it. If you made it this far, email me your address and I’ll send you some chocolates. You deserve it.

Until next time, reflect succinctly.

 

19 thoughts on “State of the Writer

    1. Thank you!

      Funny, I never thought the pronunciation of Nila would be so hard. It’s short for Petronila (my real first name). I figured a four-letter version of that would be easy, right? Go figure.

      1. I’m sure you did better than you think.

        Sometimes, all I see is what I didn’t complete. I was surprised both you and Phillip thought I was productive. I hadn’t thought so!

        It is always good to get a different perspective.

  1. Wow, what a great year! The cover to The Price of a Princess looks awesome (and great title!).

    I’ve read Wool by Hugh Howey and really enjoyed it, so I’ll be sure to check out your reviews of his other books!

    1. Thank you! The Shift books are a continuation of the Wool series, ending with Dust. Mr. Howey will be releasing a new book in 2014 called Sand that I’m looking forward to. I’ll be reviewing that too.

      I’ve also recently finished Over the Edge of the World. Great non-fiction narrative of Magellan’s trip around the world. You’d like it, me thinks.

      1. Awesome! I’ll add it to my Amazon wish list.

        Btw, since we’re throwing book suggestions around, did you ever read The Fault in Our Stars? I thought it was quite good.

Get it out of your system

