If the door is open…

Does that mean I can come in?

Angry Robot

In the case of Angry Robot – yes!

It is that time of year again, folks. Angry Robot, an up-and-coming publishing house located in the United Kingdom, is accepting unsolicited manuscripts from unagented* authors.

For those of you struggling to finish that adult science fiction/fantasy novel, here’s your chance! Some harried intern editor will read your novel and give it the same undivided attention as they would any other manuscript Angry Robot receives from agents, and, like, real authors.

Of course, based on past statistics, they’ll probably still reject it. The chances of being selected are pretty darn slim (less than 3% make it to serious consideration).

They are looking for brilliant work, folks, as well as stories that are not too similar to anything else they have already published or have in the pipeline.

But if you think you’ve got that perfect story, a speculative fiction novel that will inspire, shock, and transform – go for it.

Deadline is December 31st, 2013. Good luck to all who submit.

For those who opt to bypass this opportunity, keep writing – there’s always next year!

* Is that a word?

15 thoughts on “If the door is open…

  1. Thanks for the signal boost – one correction, though: no interns will be reading these submissions – they’re all being read by the editors!

    (Because we’re masochists, and don’t have enough to do, apparently!)

    1. Apparently, indeed. Well, that’s awesome!

      Given that information, I may have to submit something myself.

      Either way, I look forward to seeing the results. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Hmmm… can I get through Dieu et mon Driot and make all of the changes I want done by NYE? I’m going to try to give it my best shot.

    Thanks for this 🙂

    1. You definitely should. And seeing as Lee just informed me that the editors will be reading all the entries, you’ll be exposing your work to some fine people (and may even gets some feedback).

  3. Fingers crossed for you, tmso, if you are submitting. Still trying to make up my mind if I am going to take the plunge *gulp*

  4. It’s the HOG I am thinking of sending. It’s been re-edited under the guidance of a very talented lady. I just need to finish the final bits. Still a bit gut churning though. I know how high the bar is set by those talented folk at Angry Robot.

    Your stuff is good as well, you know.

    1. You have plenty of time. A little more than two months. You can do it! Let me know if you would like me to re-read.

      Look at it this way, if they say no, would that really be all that bad? It would just mean it is not their thing. But, I’m sure you’ll get, at the very least, a request for the full manuscript. That in itself would be something. 🙂

      1. You have more faith in me than I have in myself lol.

        Thanks for the offer, but I don’t want to burden you I know you do a lot of reading for others.

        I will get the edit finished, then write the two page chapter breakdown they want, plus additions then see if I can screw up my courage.

  5. Reblogged this on Sweat, Tears and Digital Ink and commented:
    So i have been working on my edit of Dieu Et Mon Droit all year and though it isn’t the literary equivalent of “in pieces across the garage floor” it has undergone many modifications. I put it to one side about a month ago. Time to pick it up again methinks to see if I can get it to Angry Robot before the end of the year.

    Thanks to Nila E. White for bringing this to my attention.

Get it out of your system

