Inspiration from Astrology

Horoscope, Astrology

I’m not into astrology, nor do I understand it. But I do find it interesting and have been known to read my horoscope from time to time.

A local newspaper rag, the Bohemian, runs the popular (well, I think it’s popular) Rob Brezsny Free Will Astrology. We won’t go into the argument of whether we truly have free will or not, suffice to say that I firmly believe we have an illusion of free will and that’s good enough for me.

Anyway, back to Mr. Brezsny.

Whether I buy into anything he says or not, I think he has humanities’ best interest at heart. And best of all, he writes these wonderfully convoluted horoscopes that are so intriguing, they often set me off to daydreaming of new characters and worlds. In short, I think his advice columns contain great inspirational material. Not all of ’em, of course, but a few will get the story-gears turning.

Below, is his most recent horoscope for my sign. If it sparks something in you, write a short story (less than a thousand words), post it on your blog, then place a link in the comment section. I’d love to read what you all come up with.

For the week of October 17th – Scorpio – by Rob Breszsny

In Tim Burton’s film Alice in Wonderland, Alice asks the White Rabbit, “How long is forever?” The talking rabbit replies, “Sometimes, just one second.”

That’s an important piece of information for you to keep in mind, Scorpio. It implies that “forever’ may not necessarily, in all cases, last until the universe dies out 5 billion years from now. “Forever” might actually turn out to be one second or 90 minutes or a month or a year or now.

 

4 thoughts on “Inspiration from Astrology

  1. I recently read a great book by John Green called The Fault in Our Stars that deals with mortality (specifically, young people with cancer). One of the quotes from the book that I absolutely loved is below, and Breszny’s Scorpio horoscope reminded me of it:

    There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities… There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for [you] than [you] got. But my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.

  2. Your quote reminds me of one from a Neil Gaiman “Death” comic. Someone who had been cheating death finally died, and they said, “600 years — I did pretty well, didn’t I?” To which Death replied, “You got a lifetime, the same as everyone else.”

Get it out of your system

