Random Tidbits

Life is busier than normal in tmso-land, so I will refrain from posting on this (and my other blogs) for some time.

That’s a lie.

I am not terribly busy, but horribly stressed. My day job is in peril (from a restructuring), and I am fretting away my valuable writing time being extremely unproductive. And it is not like I am even submitting hoards of applications either. I am just not doing anything. Can’t concentrate.

Though, I am all caught up with Downton Abbey. (How could they kill him off? How could they?!)

Anyway, in the absence of my witty and stunning prose, I give you these links:

  • Funny we should be talking about plot and character around here lately, seeing as Writer’s Digest just published an interesting article about how to properly meld the two.
  • There’s a new online market for all your stories called Amazing Stories. Actually, it is a rather old market, but is resurrecting itself online. They are not accepting story submissions yet, but you can start blogging for them. Here’s an interesting piece by Michael J. Sullivan that wiped away any idea that losing my day job might be a good thing…
  • And, also courtesy of Michael J. Sullivan (kind of obvious who I am stalking, eh?), here’s an amazing artist to inspire your stories:
By Andreas Rocha

I’ll be back next week (or the week after) with more Pixar rules! Until then, write. Because I can’t.

9 thoughts on “Random Tidbits

  1. Maybe you could just do some journaling to get you through the stress. That way, even though you aren’t working on a project, you’re still writing. Also, I find journaling helps relieve some stress. Gets the crazy out.

    1. A lot of his stuff is gloomy (which kind of fits my sensibilities), but it definitely evokes a sense of grand space, to me.

      Thanks for the luck – I’ll need it!

  2. I’m sorry I missed this, Nila. I’m not one for giving good advice, but I am one for giving advice. I’ve been through a number of these, and I can definitely empathize with you. I’m the sole breadwinner, with a wife and two kids to support, and these job situations kept me up at all hours, back in some dire days.

    Trust me, they’re not dire. You’ll survive, you’ll pick yourself up regardless of what happens, and you’ll make it through with flying colors. I understand the stress, but don’t let it take over your life.

    It’s not worth it.

Get it out of your system

