It’s Con Season

 

70th World Science Fiction Convention
70th World Science Fiction Convention (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Does that mean we can shoot ’em?

 

Ha! Sorry, but that never fails to get a smile out of me.

 

Anyway…

 

Yes, it is Con season. We are in the midst of it, actually.

 

Oh, I’m sorry. What did you say? You don’t know what a con is? You know, those weird geekdom get-togethers that forever seem to elicit a torrent of jokes from, well, everyone?

 

Yeah…those.

 

I missed BayCon 2012 this year. I was off in northern Washington visiting friends, and I don’t have plans to attend any upcoming con, but I thought I’d put a list together of some of the big genre cons coming up and a few for next year so you can plan accordingly. (All in the United States. My apologies to those overseas. List your favorites in the comment section!)

 

Comic Con – San Diego

 

You may have just missed this one in July, but don’t worry, there’s always next year. Save the date: July 18th – 21st, 2013. A perennial favorite with the fans, who wouldn’t want to go hang out in San Diego during the summer? The problem with the venue is that I would be sorely tempted to not hang out in a convention center listening to a bunch of folks when the weather and beaches are so nice. Still, it is a huge convention that some day I would like to attend.

 

SpoCon – Spokane, Washington

 

Ooooh, I may have to go to this one next year. It’s cheap! And they have a writing contest! You can still make it if you hurry. This year’s dates are from August 10th – 12th, 2012. It looks like it would be intimate and a lot of fun.

 

ChiCon 7 – Chicago, Illinois

 

This is the big daddy of ’em all. I would love to attend a WorldCon. It’s got the best of science fiction, fantasy, alternate history, other media and much more. Sadly, it is not on my calendar, but maybe yours? From August 30th to September 3rd, 2012, hit the streets of Chicago and get a chance to participate in one of the biggest celebrations of all things genre.

 

FenCon IX – Dallas/Ft. Worth, Texas

 

Coming up on September 21st to the 23rd, 2012, don’t miss this southern treat that also features a writing contest. Check it out. Entries will be accepted until August 1st!

 

TusCon – Tuscon, Arizona

 

Flying into Tuscon is like flying into the maw of a fire-breathing dragon. It is hot. But in November, the temperature should have fizzled out to a balmy 70 degrees F or so (they predict cooler, but don’t believe ’em). This quaint convention is also on the “priced reasonably” side of cons, and with the plethora of good, cheap accommodation in that sprawling city, there’s no good reason I’m not going. Except, of course, for the fact that I’m not.

 

If you are in the region, block out your calendar from November 9th to the 11th, 2012, and join in on the fun and learning.

 

LosCon 39 – Los Angeles

 

(Notice how there is no need to put ‘California’ after San Diego and Los Angeles…)

 

Near movie-ville, I wonder if participants sport the best costumes at this convention? Only way to find out is to go! With programming that is expected to include zombie survival training, you won’t want to miss LosCon 39 on November 23rd to the 25th, 2012.

 

BayCon 2013 – Santa Clara, California

 

The only con I’ve ever been to, and a fun one at that, BayCon is the San Francisco Bay Area’s main science fiction and fantasy convention. Held each year in Santa Clara (near San Jose, CA), it comes up early on the summer schedule during Memorial weekend. Save the dates May 24th to the 27th, 2013 and come join me at BayCon 2013!

 

WesterCon 66 – Sacramento, California

 

A regional convention that moves around each year, 2013 finds WesterCon only a two-hour drive from me in Sacramento, CA. Am I gonna go? I’ll try.

 

Like BayCon, WesterCon holds a Writers Workshop to help folks hone their writing skills. I’ll do my best to take advantage of this opportunity, but it is held from July 4th to the 7th, 2013.  Hubby and I are planning another kayak trip and that might take precedence.

 

LoneStarCon 3 – San Antonio, Texas

 

Ah! A great excuse to go visit the other half of my family, who happen to live in the lovely, river city San Antonio. If you miss this year’s WorldCon at ChiCon 7, don’t worry! You can make up for it on August 29th through September 2nd, 2013 and experience the greatest convention on earth with a Texan flair.

 

Until next time, hold your fire. It’s not a rogue alien, but just another con member. 😉

 

(Did I use enough exclamation points in this post?)

 

One thought on “It’s Con Season

Get it out of your system

