Linksplat

Title is stolen from some other blogger. Sorry. If I could remember where I got it, I’d credit you! Linksplat might be so ubiquitous now that I’m covered, though. (shrugs)

Anywho

Critique vs Review

It seems not enough of us know the difference between a critique and a review. No one has asked me, but here are my definitions:

A review: someone’s opinion.

A critique: someone’s opinion explained in such a manner that a writer can benefit from that opinion.

Those are, of course, in my opinion. 😉

It is never in good taste (anyone’s good taste) to respond negatively to a review or critique. Just take it, thank the person for spending their time to read and comment, and then move on. You can come back to it later and see the truth of their review/critique when a cooler head prevails. As hard as it is to admit, you just might find that the reader had some good points to make.

Three Podcasts from On The Media

These just seemed so apt, I thought I’d share.

I was trapped in my car this weekend for ten hours and caught these three radio pieces on NPR:

eBooks That Read You

Big-corporate brother is watching you read. I knew this. And I’m sure you did, too. We all agree to the pages of legalese when we buy our electronic devices and/or download Apps, but it is a bit unnerving to know that publishers are interested in using our reading habits to hone their books. What implications will this have for indie writers who will not have the benefit of these data?

The Problem of Knock Off Books

Ha! We’ve all seen these: books with titles similar to major bestsellers. But I never really thought they got any traction. Apparently, they do.

 

32px|alt=W3C|link=http://validator.w3.org/✓ Th...
Breaking Bad Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

33 Episodes in 3 Days

I don’t really like Breaking Bad (the hit TV series about a high school teacher turned meth producer), and the piece is not really about the show, but rather they way some folks might consume any TV show; those binge-watchers.

I have to admit, my husband and I do that. I did it for the first season of The Walking Dead.

It is interesting that a younger watcher thought that binge-watchers are missing out by eliminating the time between each show. The show’s host made an analog to the old written serials that were released chapter by chapter in weekly publications that we now consume in novel form (i.e. Great Expectations). Basically, what’s the difference?

With the advent of internet publishing there seems to be a return of serialized fiction. I had thought younger audiences, who seem to what their content NOW, might not be attracted to a form of fiction that required they wait a specified time between their entertainment content. But, Jim Pagels (young and hip) may indeed be open to serialized fiction. Maybe I should release my book on the internet chapter by chapter?

Flash Fiction Contest

Check out Emmie Mears website! She is hosting her first ever flash fiction contest, and offering some nifty prizes. Only 500 words, writers. You all can whip that out faster than it takes to watch the first season of The Borgias.

Until later, read and write as if no one is watching.

8 thoughts on “Linksplat

  1. I didn’t even know paid reviews were a thing. That just seems weird. Of course, all my reviews have been glowing, except for that one that I successfully blocked out…oh dear.

      1. Ha! Not.

        I saw his post earlier today. His is much funnier, of course, and far more pertinent. I think this is just a perennial issue. 🙂

  2. I’m not sure how I blocked out the review, actually, but now that you’ve reminded me of it I’ll have to get to work on doing it again. At least I didn’t pay for it, though. That would have stung.

Get it out of your system

