I had the best blog idea ever

English: QWERTY keyboard, on 2007 Sony Vaio la...
English: QWERTY keyboard, on 2007 Sony Vaio laptop computer. Français : Le clavier QWERTY d’un ordinateur portable Sony Vaio de 2007. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But it escaped me on my way from the teapot to my computer keyboard. Nonetheless, it would have been the best blog idea ever. And you would have loved it! Whatever it was would have astounded you by its usefulness. Ah! The insights you would have gained would have made all the difference in your writing career. I swear.

Alright, so I may be exaggerating (and exasperating), but I really do try to come up with blog ideas that I think you, reader/writer, might find useful.

I post about my progress because folks have asked me to do so.

I post about what’s going on in my corner of the writing world because sometimes not everything ends up on twitter. (Except, of course, things like this.)

And, I post writing tips not only for my erudition, but because even though you’ve probably read it a thousand times before, it doesn’t hurt to read it again. Sometimes the stars align and my quirky tip somehow, inadvertently, lights the light bulb in your head and you “get it”.

Get this:

Think readers first. If your blogging goal is to increase your audience, then you need to think about the needs of your readers first. Most of the tips on this list are designed to put the reader first, from being consistent and being sincere to including share buttons and paying attention to blog stats from time to time. If your blog is reader-centric, then the readers will come and bring their friends.

From the 25 Ways to Increase Blog Traffic post, Mr. Brewer makes a good point with his seventh tip. As bloggers, if we are not meeting our audience’s needs, why on earth would they stick around?

What blogs do you read no matter how little time you have? And why?

7 thoughts on “I had the best blog idea ever

  1. I think you nailed it, Nila. A blogger can blog for herself, but then she’ll be talking to herself. Blogging with an audience in mind means keeping an eye and an ear open for the bigger picture. It’s communication.

    Now I’m dying to know what that best blog post ever was. Or will it forever remain the giant fish that got away? Heh.

    1. It had something to do with the link that I provided (another indie author meltdown), but whatever grand and inspirational point I had wanted to make is forever lost in my brain. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. And this is why I write posts about turtles in my driveway.

    By the way, I don’t know if you watch the geo bee, but I’m watching it right now and being reminded that I’m a mapping scientist, not a geographer.

    1. Ha! I’m reminded of that whenever I get the latest issue of National Geographic and try to answer the geo-genius questions. I get them right about 10% of the time. Ouch!

Get it out of your system

