Scratch that niche

mappa_blog
mappa_blog (Photo credit: francescopozzi)

Let’s get right to it, students. What’s the sixth piece of advice from the 25 Ways to Increase Blog Traffic post?

All together now…

Create a niche. Most successful blogs have a niche, something that defines what it is. Over at Poetic Asides, that niche is poetry, especially related to poetry prompts and challenges. MNINB is not the best example, but it’s niche is better writing and living. One of the main benefits of developing a niche is that readers know why they’re coming to your blog and why others should go to your blog.

I’m sure you have seen this piece of advice from a lot of other sources. I know I have.

And it does seem to work.

When I started blogging, I had recipes one day, a political rant the next, and then a GIS tip. Not consistent. I was, figuratively, all over the map. My readers didn’t know whether to hate me or go down to that yummy sounding restaurant I just did a shout-out about.

So, I thought to create two separate blobs (Freudian slip, I meant blogs, of course). One for my writing efforts (this one), and the other for authors and readers that share my ideology. I did away with all my recipes (there are far better foodie blogs out there than anything I could ever offer), my ramblings on religious folk (hey, they’re people, too, you know), and my made-to-sound-somewhat-appealing-to-the-layperson mapping posts (no one was interested).

Not an over-night success, but I have attracted new readers. I believe they wouldn’t have followed me if I hadn’t put everything in its place, or niche, so to speak. Of course, I can’t say whether having a niche is a contributing factor to my readership growth, or if my stars just happen to be aligned this year. I can be certain that focusing my blogging efforts has focused my writing in general. And that is a good thing.

If you find yourself a little overwhelmed with your own blog, take a look at your Tags or Categories. Are there some that you use more often than others? Do you think one of them might serve to focus your blog?

Until next time, pigeonhole that post!

3 thoughts on “Scratch that niche

  1. and my made-to-sound-somewhat-appealing-to-the-layperson mapping posts (no one was interested).

    I would have been! As somebody trying to make a career of digital map, I truly feel that more people would be interested if they knew what GIS really was and how it affects their lives day-to-day as I’m sure you’ll agree that it affects people a lot more than they might realise.

    It would be a difficult subject to blog about, it would probably be too technical for a general audience and too general for a professional audience.

    Not an over-night success, but I have attracted new readers. I believe they wouldn’t have followed me if I hadn’t put everything in its place, or niche, so to speak.

    It really is the best approach. I tend not to return to blogs that are about everything because in a roundabout sort of way they are usually about nothing; directionless and rambling.

    You have a good blog, keep up the good work.

Get it out of your system

