Talk to me, baby

William Faulkner's Underwood Universal Portabl...

It is nice to get attention. WordPress gives us lots of tools to keep track of who is visiting our blog and when. They even came up with a cool map feature.  Very nifty.

But, for us attention whores, that’s just not enough, is it? We want to know what you think. Readers have opinions, and writers like to read them. But, sadly, most folks who do read your blog post probably never bother to leave a comment.  Why?

In Mr. Brewer’s 25 Ways to Increase Blog Traffic his second piece of advice offers some help, sort of:

Encourage comments. Some bloggers recommend turning the comments off when the traffic is low, because conditions are favorable for zero comments. However, I think it’s a smarter strategy to expect zero comments, but encourage them from the very beginning. The best blogs will get a conversation going, and that helps build traffic. I know it can feel lonely waiting for that conversation to start, but just keep plugging away.

Not exactly mind-blowing advice, but true nonetheless. And simple to employ. WordPress defaults to comments on. Now, we wait with the crickets.

20 thoughts on “Talk to me, baby

  1. But it’s GOOD advice. I’ve posted a concert review and a book review on my site over the course of the past two days and conversations have evolved from unexpected comments made by the most surprising people. Goes to show that you never know what’s going to resonate out there. I’m right there with ya on all of this! Thanks for posting and keep on choogling. I’m finding it very interesting. I guess I need to drop in and mess up your comments area more often! 🙂

    1. Hey Michael,

      Thank you so much for stopping by and reading, and for the comment. I am always surprised by what folks respond to. Choogling? I’ll have to check out your blog to figure that one out.

      1. “Keep On Chooglin'” is the name of an old Creedence Clearwater Revival song. I don’t even know what it means. I just like the way it sounds. I take it to mean”keep on keeping’ on!”

  2. I love those crickets. They kept me company for many lonely blog posts.

    Love your new template work, by the way. It looks great.

    1. Ah, the crickets. They are my biggest fans.

      I like the template too! I keep visiting my own blog just to look at it. I know, that’s bad, but there it is.

  3. I just don’t have time to leave a comment. I have this very busy schedule, you know, and it takes me 30 seconds to type a comment and there are only so many seconds in a day, 86400 to be exact. I’ve already spent 15 seconds reading your post. You want me to spend a whole minute on your website?

    1. You are right! It does take time. I often have a hard time thinking of anything meaningful to say too, and that wastes more time. Ah, the horrible dilemmas we live with, no? Not like having to worry about where are next meal will come from or whether we’ll live through the night… (bad joke)

  4. So let’s talk about that map feature… I am utterly amazed to learn so many people in Nigeria, India and Indonesia are utterly fascinated with my ramblings about writing and formatting ebooks.

    1. Really? Are you inadvertently teaching them how to format e-books so they can offer that service to thousands of Indian, Nigerian and Indonesian writers?

  5. A really good point here! I’m going to try to make a point of replying to more posts as well as enjoying those wonderful crickets over on my blog… 🙂

      1. I am very good friends with them… the start to get a bit annoying after a bit of prolonged exposure…

        Just like many good friends can 🙂

  6. I don’t rely on comments to know if people are stopping by. I have trouble coming up with a meaningful response to many blogs I enjoy. But I do love the WordPress stats page so I can actually SEE how many hits I get. And I try to offer value to the reader (I never had any idea a gluten free beer recipe would yield so many visitors.)

    1. My father-in-law is on a gluten-free diet. I’ll have to look up the recipe on your blog.

      I too have a problem with what to say to some posts, and those, I don’t comment on. But, if something made me laugh, or if I learn something new, I’ll thank the blogger. (shrugs)

  7. I understand your frustration. I have 46 subscribers but only two comment with any regularity (that is yourself and Matt Rowe). I nearly always leave a comment like “what do you think?” but the other 44 rarely feel compelled to add their 2p worth.

    Keep plugging away though; I finally hit 1000 hits in a month this February. Though that was a good achievement, I’d prefer to have far more feedback than I’m getting

    1. You know, when I first started blogging I saw it more as a public-private diary. I didn’t think anyone would read and I didn’t think I wanted them to, but now I’m obsessed. Damn internet.

Get it out of your system

