Traffic

William Faulkner's Underwood Universal Portabl...
Image via Wikipedia

Blogging traffic, that is.

Last week, the Writer’s Digest Newsletter had an article in it by Robert Lee Brewer that listed the ways you can make money from your blog. I thought, I’m not interested in making money with my blog…STOP!

Who the hell am I kidding? If I could get money for any of my writing – fiction or non-fiction – of course I want to know about it. So I started to read the article, hoping to gain some trade secrets on how to get suckers readers to give up their hard earned cash for my drivel. But I hit a snag before I even got to the money bit.

Traffic.

(insert sound of crickets)

If your blog is not attracting readers now, while your content is free, chances are they probably will not be interested when you start asking for money.

In his monetizing blog post, Mr. Brewer pointed to another one of his blog posts that list 25 Ways to Increase Blog Traffic. Kind of reminds you of something, doesn’t it?

Last year, I went through the Writer’s Digest 25 Ways to Improve Your Writing in 30 Minutes a Day article. I did one blog post per piece of advice. It was a bit grueling, but also fun and I learned a bit about myself. I hope I also did improve my writing, but that’s for you to decide.

In the spirit of that effort, I plan to review each point made in Mr. Brewer’s 25 Ways to Increase Blog Traffic in 25 posts.

Here’s the first one:

Post consistently. When I first started blogging, I’d have months of 6 posts here and months of 2 posts there–with no rhyme or reason. The smart blogger will at least post once a week–usually on the same day of the week. The benefit to a consistent schedule is that readers know when to “tune in” to your blog.

Ah, lucky me. I came across this piece of advice on several other blogs I’ve read at some point in the past three years, and, I can attest, it is true. The blog I post to most often (this one) gets the most traffic. From experience, I know I change absolutely nothing about what I write about except post more often and I will increase traffic to my blog. As simply as it sounds, it works.

I don’t think this gets you thousands of readers. But if you get a trickle, less than 10 hits to your blog a week or so, you can easily jack that up to, say, 50 hits a week by sticking to a weekly schedule.

Try it. You’ll be amazed.

Until my next scheduled post, write well.

My blogging schedule: I post three times a week: Monday Minutes, Wednesday Writer and Friday Photo (was Friday Fiction, but that’s not happening).

9 thoughts on “Traffic

  1. Awesome post, Nila!

    My blogging coach Kristen Lamb suggests blogging three times a week — when she started doing that (and when I did), her traffic went kaboom.

    That article has some great advice! 😀 Thanks for linking it, and I’m looking forward to seeing your insights on his suggestions!

    1. Thanks, Emmie.

      Well, my traffic hasn’t kaboomed, but it is steady as long as I’m steady. I’m sure there are other things I’m not working on well enough. Hopefully I’ll learn something from this little exercise.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Good stuff, ma’am. Like the idea of a regular post date though I tend to spurt, everyday for a while then every two days, never consistent.

    BTW, the picture of the typewriter reminds me of my first love. My grandparents, who were living with us at the time, owned a 1947 Underwood. God, that was a great machine!

    1. Dan! The Man! You live! I thought you dropped off the face of the earth. Actually, I thought you were ignoring me. 😮

      Thanks for your comment and for stopping by.

      Yes, I have noticed that there are long stretches between your posts. Very disconcerting.

      I very much like that picture. It keeps popping up on the WordPress suggested photos for my posts, so I use it often for posts where I give sage advice. We have an Underwood, I can’t remember the year, but it is probably much older than 1947. We got it at a garage sale. I’ve never used it, but it is cool to have around to look at how far we have come in terms of technology.

Get it out of your system

