Weekly Photo Challenge: A Glissade Down a Volcano

During our last trip to NZed in 2010, my brother-in-law took us up Mt. Ruapehu. The climb is rather easy as there’s a ski lift that takes you most of the way up. There is a portion of the top, however, that you do have to hike up…and down.

There was still snow, so we decided to glissade. For those of you who don’t know what glissading is, here’s the Wiki link. I did manage to slip, and ended up sliding down on my butt for a bit. With the old, granular snow topped with volcanic dust and rock fall, I managed to get a nasty scrape with some very nice colorful bruises. Alas, I didn’t take a picture of that. Maybe next time.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: A Glissade Down a Volcano

  1. Hi N.E.! Thanks for the blog comments and I dig the snow-covered mountain. I climbed (most of the way) up Mt. Shasta in Northern California a number of years back. Incredible!

    I added you to my blogroll, BTW, and I am parsing through your blog. Can’t say I get the “tmso” thing, but maybe I’ll figure it out.

    Regards.

    1. Hi Clifton, thanks for stopping by and for the addition to your blogroll. I’ll do the same (I do like your stuff, by the way).

      tmso: the mighty short one (no one ever figures it out)

Get it out of your system

