365 days

This year is almost over, and since everyone is doing it, I thought it would be a good idea to review my 2011 blogging year and plan out my goals for 2012.

First, the numbers.

The post with the most views:

Dog Alert

Yup, you guessed it: Pictures of my dog.  I knew we should have taken him to Hollywood

As surprising as that might seem, the next most popular post is titled Undressing in Public.  Folks surfing for pictures of naked people were sorely disappointed when all they got was a post about airport security.  Provocative title, eh?  I’ll make sure to save those for more deserving stories.

The third most viewed post on my blog this past year was…drumroll, please…another picture of my dog!

Since Alby, my dog, is obviously the most popular thing on my blog, he will be featured prominently in the sidebar.  Don’t worry, I won’t bore you with the same picture of him every time you come to visit.  I have hundreds of photos to choose from. I’ll cycle through them every week or so. 😀

As depressing as that may seem, I’m not looking back, but forward.  What can I do with this blog that would better serve the 40+ brave souls that have subscribed to it?

Most of you are writers and photographers, with a few random stalkers, and I like to think you come here for

  • Support.  Artists (can I really call myself that?) can be solitary creatures, and many of us are too busy (or introverted) to develop relationships that require our physical presence.  Hell, I barely find enough time to bath, brush my teeth, and dress myself in something presentable for work.  Don’t expect it for extra-curricular activity.  At the moment, I am in my long, cotton shirt nightie with no bra.  That’s not supposed to be sexy or anything.  Think big belly allowed to roll around in a moo-moo dress.  Yessss…sweet abandonment.  Plus, I can fart all I want, and you can’t hear or smell me!  With all those wonderful real-life qualities, it is best I develop a buddy system on the blessedly, un-revealing intertubes.  And I bet you’re just like me.  You are…aren’t you?
  • Watch a newbie crash and burn in the self-publishing gauntlet.  Another reason you might be stalking this blog is to learn what not to do when publishing your novel.  I’ll continue to chronicle my journey to self-publication, and you all can watch the garage sale.

garage sale

The act of a skier wiping out big time. Usually classified by the uncontrolled flailing and loss of poles and skis.

  • Entertainment…of the G-rated type.  Seeing as my dog entices you all to come out and visit, I’m thinking you all need a break from life once in a while.  If a picture is worth a thousand words, it’s definitely worth a hundred.  (Don’t ask.  I know that doesn’t make sense, I’m trying for a smooth segue into…)

My 2012 scheduled program will meet all your presumed interests.  On Monday Minutes, I’ll update you all on my progress, and expand on why I’ve made specific decisions.  As these decisions will not be made on a weekly basis, I’ll also use these days to post my gripes on whatever.

On Wednesday Writer, you’ll be given in-depth analyses on anything that catches my fancy in the writing world.

On Friday Fiction.  I will select a picture from my archive, and develop a 100 word or less story inspired by the photo.  I urge you all to participate by creating your own (better) story, and posting it in the comment section of each Friday Fiction post.

I’ll still be reviewing books, but only on my other blog.  If I break from my schedule, well, I’ll break from my schedule.  Let’s all consider the above a guide for next year. 😉

Until the new year, enjoy the rest of 2011.

4 thoughts on “365 days

  1. Awww, I wouldn’t take it personally. He’s a gorgeous dog.

    My most popular post of the year was the one where I promised I had a video of Miley Cyrus and Vanessa Hudgens mudwrestling naked (which of course I didn’t, it was a commentary on the importance of headlines and titles).

    1. You know, even I oooohh and aaaahhh over his pictures. He is cute.

      I remember that post! I think that’s when I started following your blog. (I probably shouldn’t admit that, huh?)

Get it out of your system

