Writing Update #1000

I’m very excited.  I’m bouncing off my chair trying to contain myself.

Yesterday I picked up my mail…

Let me back up, I ordered a book…

Wait…

Oh!  Here it is:

Yes, gentle readers, this is my second real-life, printed-on-paper, publication! My first pub was in a magazine called This Mutant Life.  That magazine no longer exists so it feels as if it didn’t really happen.  My only other publication is online over on Everyday Fiction (back when they were desperate for content).  But this, dear readers, this, seems far more permanent.  It’s a real book, you know?  A real, god-damned book.

Relax, right?  It’s only an anthology, a ‘for the love’ anthology, so it’s not like it’s really a real book or anything.  Even so, it makes me proud.  For today, I am happy.

😀

Here’s a real-life snap shot of the book:

A real book.

It is surreal to see this:

That’s my name. Right there. In print.

Funny thing, seeing my name in print like that has really spurred me on to publish my novels.  I’ve created a writing schedule for 2012, and I’m sticking to it!  No more short stories.  I only have so many hours in the day, and I want to focus on getting my seven-book Lorena Libre series done.

To that end, my first task is to finish the synopsis of Book 1 for a potential editor.  Second task is to complete the fifth draft of Book 1.  Third task is to complete the first draft of Book 2.  That’s enough to keep me busy for the next month or more, so we’ll leave it that.

Write till your fingers bleed, baby.  Later.

11 thoughts on “Writing Update #1000

  1. Congratulations, Nila!!! That is awesome, and I am super stoked for you! It also is rather perfect timing for something I had planned and worked on for a couple hours last night…check my blog tomorrow.

    Mua ha ha ha…

      1. I did use “gentle readers”, and I didn’t even realize it. Usually it is suckers, saps, or simpletons. You are gentrifing me. 😉

        I read all your blog posts. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Learco. It is motivating. Again, I know it is a small thing, but it still makes me smile to see it. I can’t wait to finish my books! 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Nila! Thought I’d stop by after reading about your blog on Emmie Mears’ blog, and love what I’ve read so far. Hearing about your recent publishing success is super motivating! Keep up the good work.

    1. Hello Lyra, thanks for stopping by.

      I’m super embarrassed now. It really was nothing, but thank you so much for the well wishes.

      Despite the small achievement, it is motivating. So, if you get a chance to submit to an anthology – do it!

Get it out of your system

