NaNoWriMo – Day 22

Day 22 is dragging.

I’ve only gotten in 454 words today.  Maybe a spurt of inspiration will get me through the night, but I doubt it.  I may just end up reading about swords tonight or another chunk of A Dance with Dragons.  Or (gasp) I might watch some TV on NetFlix.

Either way, I’ve been afflicted by this overall malaise for a couple of days now, and I managed to stave it off yesterday by working on another concept for my book cover on my first book in between stints of writing.  Here it is:

Blood Moon cover
Blood Moon cover idea

Keep in mind that the stock image will go – that’s just a place holder at the moment – and so is the text in the upper, left hand corner (I’ve been told it’s too cheesy – ah, I answer, but I am cheesy…).  I’ve scheduled a commission with Sonia Verdu to do a proper illustration for the top half.  Here’s a sample of her work:

Paisaje by Sonia Verdu
Paisaje by Sonia Verdu

I know, I know – I shouldn’t be spending money on a cover image before I even get the darn thing edited (shopping around for an editor – know of any?), but Sonia is busy for the next four months so I figured that’s enough time for me to figure out whether I’m really doing this or just fartin’ in the wind.

So…thanks for the distraction, now back to writing!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Day 22

  1. Both images are beautiful and intriguing. The first one with the title made me think of romantic and scary Werewolf or vampire story…the second one of a mysterious land where there’s a supernatural lake where a mystical beautiful creature comes out at night during a full moon. What happens next is the best part. Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your loves ones.

    1. Oh! Very good observations. I’ll keep in mind key words to give to the artist for what I want her artwork to evoke. Thank you!

      You have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your loved ones as well.

Get it out of your system

