Book covers and titles

I managed to catch up with NaNoWriMo and celebrated by giving myself permission to mess with the book cover for my first book.  While playing around with fonts and various ideas and images, my husband mentioned that my title, Devil’s Blood, would not entice him to pick up the book.

Bummer.

Titles are hard.  How the heck do you come up with a one (or two, maybe three) word title that encompasses your entire book?

I don’t have a clue.  I do know that I came up with Devil’s Blood very early on, and it made sense to me at the time.  Now that I think about it, I don’t like it much.  So my husband and I batted around some ideas and we came up with:

Devil's Blood is now Blood Moon

Here’s the full spread (back, spine, and front [FYI – the blurb is just place holder text, I’m gonna fix it so that it actually entices folks to read the book – hopefully):

Blood Moon Book Cover Spread

Just messing around.

10 thoughts on “Book covers and titles

  1. I like the look, Nila. I can’t read the back cover copy, though. Not that I have to, since it would look far different with a hard copy in hand. I do like the overall package. Nice job.

    1. I’m glad you can’t read the back cover copy – it sucks – at the moment. 😉

      If you click on the image, you’ll get a big version and you should be able to read it, but as I said, it’s just filler right now.

      I’m so glad you like it!!!!!! 😀 You’ve made my day.

  2. I love it! I really like the muted map, and I think the whole thing works tremendously. I would buy it. For realsies. If I picked it up, I would buy it.

    1. Also, filler copy or not, from what I read on the back, your story sounds intriguing and captivating. I want to read it. 😀

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Randall! In regards to the title, yeah, I think sometimes we writers over-think stuff, spending hours trying to get something “right”. And in the end, no one even notices.

      I think I’ll stick with Blood Moon for the simple reason that it’s got all those ‘O’s – they look good on the page. 🙂

Get it out of your system

