NaNoWriMo Update – Post 3rd Day

Wow.  After three days of NaNoWriMo, I’m up to a total of 4820 words.  I should be at 5100, but who cares.  I’m doing it, baby!

I got rid of all the excess crap on my schedule this month, and it is working!!!

Surprisingly, I’m actually quite productive.  Not only at work, but I’m reading two books in preparation for another author interview, finished up an interview with the first author, and still have time to write.

Why can’t I do this all the time?

I suppose I do, but I often get distracted with, well, editing.  Whoever said writing was hard, got it wrong.  Editing is hard.  It takes time.  You have to look things up, pull out one or two thesauruses, check the style guide or grammar book, come up with yet another quick character sketch, check that outline for inconsistencies in the story, and on and on.  That’s not counting trying to learn how to write.

Serious distraction...

All of that can eat lots of time.  And if you happen to see something on ships or swords, well, that just means its time to go down to the library and get a few more reference books to peruse!

Before you know it, you’ve written maybe a handful of new words, and its time for bed.

That’s the beauty of NaNoWriMo.  All that literary abandonment, gives the inner editor a chance to take a month off.  Thank goodness.  It feels good to just create; to set the scene and let my character do as they like.  They are all having a great adventure, and so am I.

Happy writing. 🙂

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update – Post 3rd Day

Get it out of your system

