Yikes

This giant statue of Superman stands in front ...
Image via Wikipedia

I don’t have any of the writing tip topics ready for today, so I thought I’d use the Post A Day Topic.

Here it is:

Topic #265:

Describe a dream you’ve had more than once.

Everyone has a dream, or nightmare, they’ve had more than once. Either write a post describing one, or explaining why you think it [sic] you’ve had the dream multiple times.

I do have a recurring dream.  A bit of a nightmare, really, but it’s mixed up with good stuff, too.  I must have been about six or seven when it started, and I’m sure it is a result of staying up too late and watching TV shows I probably shouldn’t have watched.

It’s starts out with Superman.  He’s flying around, carrying my entire family in an iridescent bubble.

I’m sure that was in a movie, right?  Or a TV show? Or maybe a cartoon?

I didn’t know what iridescent meant back then, but the bubble was shiny with rainbow swirls like a soap-bubble.  Anyway, he’s carry my family around in this big bubble that’s just perched on his outstretched hand.  Somehow, all seven of us fit rather comfortably.  And, I’m in the bubble enjoying the scenery, but I also have an out-of-body-experience-like view of the affair.  I can tell my little brother doesn’t want to be in the bubble.

After about two seconds of this, the dream shifts into another movie.  This one has a lady-in-distress walking down a studio path with fake, thick moss; dry-ice smoke; and black trees.  Even my six-year-old self could tell the movie set was a mock forest.  A huge-ass, bogus spider lurches out of nowhere and attacks!

I’m sure in the movie, someone comes and saves her.  But in my dream-turned-nightmare, no one does.  She screams and screams and screams.  My family are gone, and I’m left there watching her torment.

Luckily, my six-year-old brain could not come up with anything more inventive than the spider eating her alive.  Heh, lucky me.

The worst part is that I can’t do anything.  I can’t save her.  No matter how much I try, I can’t change the dream/nightmare and help the beautiful lady.  I’m not Superman.

I’m now in my 40s, and now and then, I still have that dream.

One thought on “Yikes

Get it out of your system

