I got busy

I just submitted a story I had lying around to the Story Quest Short Story Contest.  Deadline is October 31st, 2010, so if you have something between 1,000 to 3,000 words that you are not doing anything with – submit!

Of course, only send your best work.

I think their standards are pretty high, so I’m not holding my breath on this one, but I’m hoping with three judges, I’m bound to get some feedback – maybe.

Here are my new Duotrope stats:

Pending responses for last 12 months: 2
Submissions sent last 12 months: 9
Submissions sent this month: 1
Acceptance ratio for the past 12 months: 25.00 %
Congratulations! Your overall acceptance ratio is higher than the average for users who have submitted to the same markets.

Oh, by the way, I had to use Submishmash to submit my story.  Ug – yet another online tracking system.  It’s not like Duotrope; it actually manages the submission by being the vehicle, I guess, to submit to various publications.  More and more online magazines are using it.  I suppose it cuts down on their stuffed email inbox.  (shrugs)

Later!

3 thoughts on “I got busy

  1. I wish I could write more short stories. I have a really hard time with that kind of brevity and like getting to know my characters over the course of a novel, so I tend to shy away from them. I did write one last year, but I doubt I’ll ever submit it. Even that story might turn into a novel — it’s a post-apocalyptic fantasy about a world where women were enslaved what came from that. I like it, but it’s got some sharp edges to it.

    1. I have to admit, short stories are hard in a way that novels are not. It’s amazingly difficult to pack a punch in so few words. But I like to write them in between writing my novels. It breaks things up, and I get to write in different worlds I wouldn’t otherwise visit.

      I know some folks who are awesome at it. DailyRich is one of ’em. His flash pieces feel like whole novels, and are complete. I don’t know how he does it. Here’s his blog:http://dailyrichblog.wordpress.com/

      But he doesn’t have too many stories up. Most of ’em are on SFFWorld.com.

Get it out of your system

