Statistics and Rejections

Since I just got an acceptance and a rejection (more on that later), I thought I’d post my Duotrope statistics:

Pending responses for last 12 months: 1
Submissions sent last 12 months: 8
Submissions sent this month: 1
Acceptance ratio for the past 12 months: 25.00 %
Congratulations! Your overall acceptance ratio is higher than the average for users who have submitted to the same markets.

Note that cool little note at the bottom.  Currently, my ratio is higher than average.  Before last week, it said…well, I can’t remember what it said, but it definitely didn’t say that.  Since I submit so little, one acceptance makes a huge difference.  A bit of a boost to the ego, that is.  Since I regularly flay my ego till it shatters, this is nice to see.

However, if you know me, I’ve got to complain about something…

Some of you may have noticed that I have removed my rejection page and letters.  I was told by several writers that it was a major faux pas to post my rejection letters.  I was informed that a visiting editor might think unfavorable thoughts about me once they realized I post all my rejection letters.  So, in the hopes of salvaging some sort of dignity, I relented to their combined threats wisdom, and removed all those lovely rejection letters.

The saddest part about all this is that I just received a rejection letter for my fat fairy story and I have no one to share it with.  Yeah, I showed to my hubby, but he just said, “So.”  And, I know, that should be my attitude, too.  But, darn it, if I don’t like to wallow in despair.

That’s what prompted me to post my statistics.  I thought, Yeah!  I can still show the little bastards!  But lo and behold Duotrope seems to be thwarting my psychosis.  They only report the number submitted and the number accepted.

Damn all those positive-thinking minions!  I need my negativity! 😦

Anyway, have a good day.  I will attempt to do so, also.

14 thoughts on “Statistics and Rejections

  1. I am not an editor, but all editors know how many people get rejected. I think you should most definitely have your rejection letters posted! 😀

    1. That’s what I thought. They give out a fair number of them, surely they expect one or two will surface?

      Oh well, I was told it made me look spiteful. Which was not the point. I just liked to put them up. Kind of like a public wailing wall sort of thing. Oh well. One must appear professional, even if one is not. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      1. Think I have mentioned on my blog that I have submitted short stories to different mags, never posted the rejection letters, just mentioned that said submission bit the dust.

  2. Hi, just wanted to say, I was in the same boat as you. I had posted my rejections and had to pull them. Also, don’t feel bad about meanies on the forums. I have a sneaking suspicion that they are not real writers. People who suffer for the craft, like we do, know compassion. My only criticism here is, I am a bit confused by your blog. What precisely did you have accepted? And can I read it?

    1. Nick, a lot of the forum members are, and very good ones. HE and Dawnstorm are two of the best.

      As for suffering, the moment I stop enjoying writing and start suffering over it is the day I will give it up.

Get it out of your system

