Wild Blackberry Cobbler

About two weeks ago, during my dog’s morning constitutional walk, I stopped dead in my tracks.

Sunlight poured over the grasslands, and glistened on the morning dew.  A gentle breeze swayed the sandy green grass, and the buzz of an iridescent hummingbird reached my ears.  But I was oblivious to it all.

For there, dear gentle reader, right before my undeserving eyes, was a sight worthy of god’s eyes alone.  Due to some gastronomical alignment of dastardly proportions, instead it was I, a lowly sinner, given a sight from heaven.

Wild Blackberries
Wild Blackberries

(Cue celestial music…)

Blackberries.

When we first came down to Santa Rosa, I knew that we had moved into the heart of slow food cooking country and wine country, but nobody ever told me about the blackberries.

And though I’ve blogged about all the time Alby chased skunks through the wild grasslands surrounding the vineyard we live on and how he’d come back full of thorns from the blackberry bushes, it never occurred to me that there would be, well, blackberries.

The field where I take my dog for a walk is mostly native grassland, but a portion of it is an abandoned vineyard.  It is overrun by poison oak, coastal Ceanothus bushes, a bunch of weeds, and mountains of blackberry.

And they are ripe.

Over the last few months, a bit of magic has been occurring right before my eyes and I didn’t notice.  I didn’t notice the vines filling out with fresh shoots and leaves.  I didn’t notice the thousands of little white flowers that dotted the landscape.  And I definitely didn’t notice the hard, green multi-seed fruit that would soon turn a blood-red, then black gold.

Frankly, I didn’t notice until the fruit turned into the familiar thing I am used to eating from the market.  Shame on me for being so unobservant!  Not only did I fail to see the import of the abandoned field, but I discarded it as a spot to hurry through on my way to the small creek beyond.

Not anymore.  To celebrate the hidden treasures that abound in Sonoma County, I decided to pick a bunch of berries and make a cobbler.

Here’s the recipe I used.  Now, go out and find your own berry patch. 😉

Wild Blackberry Cobbler

  • 2.5 cups of wild blackberry
Wild Blackberries in Red Glass Bowl
Wild Blackberries in Red Glass Bowl
  • 3/4 cups of raw sugar

Step 1: Mix berries with sugar and set aside

Berries with sugar
Berries with sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Step 2: Turn oven on to 375 degrees F (or 190 degrees C)

Step 3: Mix dry ingredients in separate bowl.

  • 1 cup of soy milk
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of melted Earth Balance Buttery spread (like butter)

Step 3: Mix last two ingredients into the dry flour mixture.

The Cobbler
The Cobbler part of Wild Blackberry Cobbler

Step 4: Pour batter into non-stick 8″ round baking pan or anything you can find to stick in the oven.  Top gooey batter with the berry mixture.

Uncooked Wild Blackberry Cobbler
Uncooked Wild Blackberry Cobbler

Step 5: Bake your black beauty for 45 to 55 minutes.

Wild Blackberry Cobbler
Wild Blackberry Cobbler - Ready to Eat

Step 6: Remember to share. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Wild Blackberry Cobbler

  1. In addition to making me hungry, this post brought back a childhood memory.

    One summer, we wondered why our dog was spending so much time with her snout in the berry bushes…until we realized that she was eating all the ripe berries! She had figured out that if she licked them and they fell onto her tongue, they were good to eat. The ones that stayed on the bush, well…she’d try those again tomorrow.

    I really miss that dog.

    1. Oh! That’s a sweet story. I tried getting Alby to realize they were good to eat straight off of the vine, but he balked. He, of course, ate the cobbler easily enough.

      A dog that is smart enough to know when there’s good food to be had behind a wall of thorns is a treasure. Thanks for sharing.

Get it out of your system

