Legacy

Google Doodle for Mendel
Google Doodle for Mendel via the Los Angeles Times

You may have noticed that Google is honoring Gregor Mendel today.  I admire the way Google reminds us of anniversaries or people we might otherwise forget about.

I remember my science class in high school where I first read or heard about Mendel and his genetic discoveries.  What stuck with me then, and does today, is this guy’s meticulous work.  He spent a lot of time testing his theories in the slow, experimental gardens of his monastery.

What I didn’t know, or had forgotten, is that he wasn’t properly recognized for his achievements during his lifetime.

For all you writers, scientists, and artist slaving away, take heart.  It may be awhile, but eventually, your hard work will touch the world in ways you can’t even imagine.

2 thoughts on “Legacy

  1. I still intend to get an education in genetics someday. Just a basic one, past the stuff I had in college. Why? I have no idea. But I noticed the doodle this afternoon, and I appreciated it as well.

    Hope all is well.

    D

Get it out of your system

