Book Review: The Golden Compass

The Golden CompassThe Golden Compass (Kindle Edition)

Book Review: The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

The Golden Compass (or Northern Lights everywhere else in the world) is a story about a girl named Lyra Belacqua that earns the name Silvertongue.

Lyra’s story begins at Oxford’s Jordon College where she inadvertently witnesses what she thinks is a crime against her uncle, but turns out to be so much more.  She is soon wading in the depths of a world-spanning mystery to help save kidnapped children, her estranged father, and ultimately the universe (in the next two books, I imagine).

Lyra’s world is familiar to ours, or rather, 19th century England, but fundamentally different.  One of the most striking differences are dæmons.  Dæmons are soul-like creatures.  Every human has one, except those that have had their dæmons wretched from them.  And that’s exactly why Lyra must save the kidnapped children.  Because someone, someone unimaginably close to Lyra, is cutting children’s souls apart.  On her journey to save those children, Lyra encounters natural wonders (the northern lights), witches, bears, and a betrayal so deep, it sends her to another world.

The story is told primarily from Lyra’s point of view.  Through talks between herself and her dæmon, we learn to love and respect this spunky, intelligent girl as she discovers a world full of sin and politics.  I recommend this book to every child who loves adventure, no matter their age.  I wholeheartedly give this book five HUGE stars.

You can check out the rest of the review on my other blog.

Cheers,

tmso

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Golden Compass

  1. I was very much impressed by it. I hadn’t read the book till very recently, and I plan to read the rest soon, probably over the holidays. I wish I had something like this to read when I was a kid.

    I’m pushing it on all my nieces and nephews. 😀

Get it out of your system

