To edit or not to edit

Illustration of the devil, page 577. Legend ha...
Random Devil Image via Wikipedia

I have to work today, so why not procrastinate and post on my blog?

I am experiencing a bit of a conundrum.  I didn’t time things very well and now that I have gotten some feedback from my FtQ escapade, I’d like to get started on my next draft of Devil’s Blood (that’s my WiP, by the way).  But…I got the workshop coming up and I’ve already submitted the same material to them.  I can’t very well tell them to ignore that (please!) as it has already been sent out.

So…do I wait till after the workshop, where they will most likely tell me the same things I’ve already heard, to edit my story, or just start on it now?

I did have the sense enough to take down my request for dedicated readers over on Critters.  I figured, between the FtQ comments and whatever I get from the workshop, I’ll have more than enough to work on.  Plus, why put myself through more heartbreak?

As we all know, no matter how callous one might be, it’s still hard to cast your baby upon the harsh stones of reality.

Not that it hurts that much.  I know my stuff is not for everyone AND I know I have a lot of work to do to get my baby up to speed, but still, well, we all have egos, don’t we?

It’s not like I have the time at the moment anyway, but it is eating at me.  I’d like to print out the beast again and go over sections that might be a better start.  Or do I re-write the start completely?  Or does it just need some tweaking?  Or should I (gasp!) start over?  Do I chuck it as a learning experience and move on?

I don’t know how much time I’ll have in the workshop to actively work on my manuscript, but I do hope I manage to corner a professional editor or writer and ask them those questions.

Though I have taken a few writing classes, I think it’s about time I’ve taken another one and I’ve checked out the local community college.  Since I work full-time, and then some, a night class or online class would be ideal.  I’ve taken a few from the Sierra Community College, but they are more focused on new writing and the instructors do not edit/critique as much as I would like.  If I find a good writing group during BayCon, then I’ll forgo the writing class so I can focus on just a few people who will hopefully guide me as I try to help them with my own limited knowledge.

Well, that’s a tentative plan – at the moment. Who’s knows what I have in store for myself?   But I know I will take whatever opportunity I can to learn from others.

Besides, I knew I’d have at least another year’s worth of work on Devil’s Blood.  Now I know just how much more  work I really do have!  Either way, I’m still on track for a 2012 release date.

The end of the world is coming, and I’ve got to beat it. 😉

2 thoughts on “To edit or not to edit

  1. Hiya,

    Wait till you have all the critiques you have out are back, then read them through. Sort out the points that match, sort out the ones you agree with and the ones you don’t. Take a break of a couple of weeks, THEN start editing. If you rush into stuff you only end up doing it again.

    For my new effort I am in a take the break period, as I want to apply the comments my agent made about Oracle and HOG to the new work from the get go. (Some I agree with others I don’t)

    1. Hello,
      That sounds like a good plan. And it has the added bonus that I don’t have to do anything right now. Thanks for stopping by, and good luck with your own edits. HOG seems so polished I can’t see what he wants to change, but as I haven’t finished it, maybe he’s got a good reason.

      Makes me feel kind of special…I get to read a version no one else will…cool. 😉

Get it out of your system

