Rejection Stats

I could have titled this post “Acceptance Stats”, but that would be optimistic, and I’m not feeling very optimistic at the moment.  My story, Mother’s Curse, just got rejected.  I rather nice, form rejection, but still a rejection (posted under my Rejection pages).

If you used Duotrope (that lovely market database and submissions tracker I posted about some time ago), you’d be able to get info like this:

Pending responses for last 12 months: 1
Submissions sent last 12 months: 9
Submissions sent this month: 1
Acceptance ratio for the past 12 months: 25.00 %

Nifty, huh?

My acceptance ratio is rather high for most authors, so I’ve been told.  That’s because I started submitting before I discovered Duotrope.  I can’t remember what and where I submitted, so those (all rejections) will remain unaccounted.  I can only hope my rejection ratio (or acceptance ratio, depending on how you look at it) remains below 90% (10% acceptance ratio).  No reason for those numbers, it’s just something I pulled out of my ass.

Gotta have a goal. 😉

3 thoughts on “Rejection Stats

  1. Tmso,
    I was drawn to the word REJECTION, in your title. Your situation sounds familiar, so I guess that’s normal. Everyone seems to take it so lightly. I’m not at that stage yet, but rejection in life (in general) shakes up my esteem. Wonder how I’ll handle it. Anyway, great blog site! I’ll check back again.

    1. Hello JD,

      Thanks for stopping by. Yeah, rejection sucks. However, in the past year, I’ve found it is quite common. At least, for me. Joining a writer’s group helps, but not much.

      Cheers,
      tmso

Get it out of your system

