Book Covers

I have a confession to make.

I had absolutely nothing to do yesterday afternoon.  No bike rides scheduled.  Grocery shopping finished.  And since we are renting, no need to do that gardening – it’ll wait.

I could have read something.  Could have critiqued a story or two on Critters and upped my participation ratio.  But seeing as it is already at 133%, no need to do that.  I should have edited the last few chapters of my novel, but no…no no, I am a writer.  And writers procrastinate, do they not?  Writers spend inordinate amounts of time researching or surfing the net or participating in forum arguing with a twelve-year-old kid, don’t they?

Alas, I did none of those things.

I came up with a book cover.

I know, I know.  I haven’t even queried anyone yet!  For all I know, my book may miraculous end up on a publishers desk, and someone else will get paid good money to design an awesome book cover for my novel.

But, let’s be realistic.  I’ll probably end up self-publishing on Smashwords.  A year from now, after receiving rejection after rejection; either I’ll do my book cover, or I’ll hire someone to do it.

So…here’s my first idea:

Devil's Blood by N.E. White Book Cover Version 1
Devils Blood by N.E. White Book Cover Version 1

Whadda ya think?

Go ahead, I can take it.  Is it boring?  Not representative of my book?  Eye catching?  Not eye-catching?  Unprofessional?  Font hard to read?  That white background on the text a bit hokey?

Regardless of what you think of my book cover, check out this site.  Some basic, good advice from a book designer.

8 thoughts on “Book Covers

  1. I like it… except, until I read it’s part of a fantasy mystery series, I would have thought it an historical novel. It doesn’t have that fantasy eye-catch gotcha feel. I’ve been asking my reader friends what they like to see–every one of them claim they like people on the cover. They also say when they’re skimming offerings on Amazon, bright colors catch their attention. Might I suggest instead of “Fantasy Mystery Series” you come up with a slick tag line?

    1. It is an historical novel, but with one fantasical element and a bit of magic. Should a say it’s an historical fantasy series? Each book is dedicated to each of the seven deadly sins.

      I like the idea of a tag line. Not sure I can do slick, but that’s a good idea.

      1. I’m groaning, but not because of anything you’ve done. I’m thinking about self-pubbing, and then I see this and realize how many elements go into creating a book package, and my head starts thumping on my desk.

        Maybe if you brightened the map image, made it more fantastical, and then do a tag line instead of the copy in the center. (You realize I’m flailing here and thusly every suggestion needs a good shake of salt.)

      2. Yeah, there are lots of things to think about. But maps are my thing. It’s what I do for a living. So from the very beginning I knew I wanted a map on the cover. I’m doing two maps for the book, too. I’ll be working on those soon and will post when I feel happy with them.

  2. Looks good, but I thought of something while looking at it. It would look good if you could do a darker color for background and than metallic colors for the map details. I’ve seen it done on other covers before, it looks pretty cool, and could draw attention.

    I think people like to see the characters of the story, also. I did read that the publisher usually hires an artist/ or artists to do something for the cover, and that the author doesn’t have much control over it.

    I’m guilty of thinking about covers for my own work, too. It doesn’t help that I happen to be an artist either. I’d probably end up stressing whether or not a piece of work was good enough for the cover. If I’m published one day, I think it’ll probably be better to leave it to someone else.

    1. Yeah, I’d love to have people on the cover. I have a cool image in my head of Andreas (male, main character) with his hat on (special hat in book) looking down so you don’t see hs face too clearly. Then Lorena dim and dark in the background with her wings open just a bit as if she is trying to hide behind them.

      But I’m not an artist.

      But, I am a map maker and this particular historic map ( or rather, one like it) is part of the story, all seven books. So, I do want at least part of this map on the cover.

  3. Thanks for the shout out. Your cover looks great for a first try. Although I love maps for background texture, I think this one is so strong it’s fighting with your typography. Also, you might think about picking a color for the title that does not blend so well with the illustration. Also, try experimenting with different typefaces for the title, this one, while lovely for some uses, is very weak for a book title that has to really stand out from the other elements on the cover. Good start!

    1. Hello Joel. Thanks for stopping by. And for your assessment. Very much appreciated. I’ll play around with it again this weekend, but you know…I might just ask you to do it! 🙂

Get it out of your system

