I’m an e-Reader!

Image representing iPhone as depicted in Crunc...
Image via CrunchBase

I completely forgot to tell the world.  I am officially an e-Reader now.

For the past year, I’ve been humming and hawing about which e-Reader (the Nook?  Something from Sony?  An iPad?) to buy when I realized I already had one.

My cell phone.

I have an iPhone and there’s a nifty, free Kindle app (with WhisperSync) for the darn thing.  I also downloaded the eReader and Stanza apps.  I’ve only read one book via the Kindle app (The Windup Girl), and my very own short story on Stanza.

And here’s my verdict: I like it.

With both systems, it’s super easy to purchase and download books.  Super easy to navigate through the book, and I think I worked out the font size and color that works best for me.

Is it better than a book?

Naw.  It’ll never be.  Not for me.  I grew up with real, physical books and those will remain my favorites, but a digital book offers advantages that the real thing just can’t compete with.  Accessibility (don’t have to go to the store or library), eco-friendly (no paper waste), and I can take it everywhere and no one knows how many books I’m carrying under my arm (so to speak).

Of course, the disadvantage is that it is digital.  Can’t throw the damn thing across the room when an author kills off a loved character.  But other than that, I think I’ll be using it more and more often.  It’s just awfully convenient.


11 thoughts on “I’m an e-Reader!

    1. Cool link.

      I’m sending over an iPhone as I write…there. Got it? It’s right there. Right next to your hand. No. The other one. Oh! You dropped it! It’s by your foot now. No. The other one. Don’t you see it?

  1. I have been thinking about an e-book, just because it is totally Star Trek. The little data pad. By the way, William Shatner turned 80 this year.

    I don’t have an I phone. I am in the dark ages when it comes to phones. I have one of those phones where you have press the button 3 times to just get the letter “C”. So, if you were to recommend a platform other than your perfect little phone, would you pick the Nook, or something else?

  2. I definitely agree that there’s nothing like the physical copy of a book. I really appreciate the good ol’ fashioned book. There’s something good about the smell of the paper, the cover art, and being able to sit back on a couch and experience another realm.

    1. Hello Lynn, Thanks for stopping by. I agree. I’m sure I’ll be one of those people that will buy the e-edition of a book, and if I like it, then I’ll buy the physical copy. Books just have a weight and feel that a Kindle or Nook or whatever can not replicate. I suppose they will go the way of vinyl records. It’s a little sad.

      1. It will be sad if they go electronic. I hope it doesn’t happen too soon.

        Oh, I went ahead added you to my blogroll links.

  3. I just discovered the e-reading capabilities of my iPod! Isn’t it lovely? I was able to read Dracula some today during a break between classes. I’m especially glad to have the iPod because my Sony E-Reader just broke a few weeks ago. (Those things seem especially fragile by the way, for anyone who might have been considering purchasing one).

    1. That’s good to know. I am still considering getting one, but wanted to try out reading on any sort of digital device, so I loaded apps on my iPhone. I like it. I’m just about done with my second book on it: Shadow Son by Jon Sprunk. I’ll be posting a review soon.

  4. Damn I am in the dark ages. It seems like everyone has an i-this or an i-that. The only constant in this world is a very good glass of beer! I am drinking a dark Munich Beer – Optimator right now and listening to a little Darius Rucker. So I will let you folks go on ahead rushing into the future with those mechanical toys of yours while I just enjoy the simplicities of life.

    I don’t mind sharing. Crack a beer and enjoy some mellow music. ENJOY!!! 🙂

Get it out of your system