Rejection on a whole other level

Thinking Woman

Had a little bit of drama at work today.

 

Someone got fired.

Yup.

Fired.

As in, “You no longer work here, please leave.”

Thank goodness, it wasn’t me.

But it did get me thinking.

I, myself, have never been fired, and I know very few people who have been “let go”.  The occasions I can remember involved a lot of yelling, tears, and the cops.  Well, that was the gossip.

Anyway, I associate the termination of an employee with a lot of drama.  It usually takes a whole lot of trying to get fired from where I come from.  In my world, it usually takes some sort of willful negligence or downright criminal activity to get the boot.  So upon hearing that a well respected engineer in the firm was fired for poor performance, it made me sit up.  Fired?  For poor performance?  Holy crap.  He knew his shit!  Way more than I know my shit.  What’s a poor performance?  Is my performance up to par?

The fact that the company owner gathered us all around, and told us of these events directly, I can only suppose was intended to assuage our fears that anyone one of the rest of us was not next.  I guess.

But it got me thinking.  Having had my own business for the last eight years, I kind of got out of the loop of office politics.  Working for myself, all I had to do was make sure I got the job done – within budget and before the deadline.  Sure, I had to butter up the clients a bit, but most of them were one-man shops like my own.  We were all friends.  The thought of firing each other, of rejecting ourselves, never crossed my mind and I’m sure it didn’t cross my client’s minds.  I hope.

Well, at 41, I guess it is about time I joined the real world, and realize it is just not fair.  A perfectly capable, over-qualified individual just doesn’t cut it anymore.

😦

4 thoughts on “Rejection on a whole other level

  1. I’ve seen firings and I’ve been the firer a few times, the one gives the bad news to other. It’s really no fun messing with peoples lives. A lot of firings ends up being political in a way. I am sure there is more to the story in this case.

    I am surprised that your owner gave details as they did, saying it was for poor performance. Usually the firer wants to stay clear from reasons of why someone was fired due to litigation purposes.

    Hopefully the person was just board and now they can be more motivated in doing something else.

    1. Well, that was the weird part. He told us it was for poor performance – yikes! Talk about sticking a knife in someone’s back! You are right, he didn’t have to (and shouldn’t) tell us that. But he did. I’m thinking the poor guy pissed someone off one too many times. I, too, wish the best for him.

  2. Your first few lines really had me worried…well done!

    I’ve been pink-slipped twice, and luckily only one of them came at a truly bad time. (There’s nothing quite like training your replacement to really sour one’s attitude toward management.)

    Twice, I enjoyed the role reversal when I had a better-paying gig lined up before resigning my current position. There’s something quite satisfying about walking into HR after finishing work on a Friday, handing in a timesheet, and saying “Hi. I quit!”

    Ah, the arrogance of youth…

Get it out of your system

