My Very First Draft

Can you believe it?

I think my first draft is actually ready to show to a few chosen friends (read: suckers).  The idea is that they’ll review my baby, and offer some much needed guidance.  Once I incorporate their edits and ideas, then the next version should be ready for Critters (yikes! most likely the largest audience I will ever find).

So, now that I have nothing to do (WTF?), I can attack all those critter entries that fall in my inbox each week.  You don’t know what a relief it is to not have to concentrate on my own cruddy novel.  Woohoo!  I can now pick apart your cruddy novel.

Watch out! 🙂

(P.S. I don’t really think your novel is cruddy.  I’m just trying to be funny… 🙄 )

13 thoughts on “My Very First Draft

  1. Hey Nila!

    Hope all is good. The family has been sick with dreaded virus lately. I haven’t gotten, knock on wood, but everyone at the office and home has. I am probably the carrier.

    Anyways, that is fantastic you’ve completed your novel! I can’t wait to see you in print. It will be fun to see.

    It’s good to have the folks at Critters crit your work but remember they are not going to have the same passion as you or your agent will, so take the advice sparingly, and be picky of what and who you want to gain advice from.

    Have fun and good luck!!!

    🙂

    T. Ansel Knemeyer

    1. You’re right about that – I’ll try to be picky. I do know it still needs a lot of work, but it is shareable now so, yes, I do want to share. Thank you so much for the encouragement. You helped keep me going. 🙂

      Have you been writing? I’ll go visit your blog and find out. I still haven’t received any email updates from your site, hope that feature hasn’t gone away…

      1. I have been writing. I really want to continue my Galactic Traveler Series with Dregnaw, but I am working on my novel. I officially finished my 1st chapter last week, and on my second. I keep bouncing around and I need to settle down and commit myself to it so I can complete it. I will return to the Galactic Traveler though. I really enjoy writing it. I have a feeling that I will try and make a book out of that one too in time but I want to complete the one that got me started writing in the first place. I want to feel what you are feeling in that euphoria of completing something of such magnitude.

        I am glad to help. I think you have the right discipline to keep writing, but the only thing with you is that you get too hard on yourself. It’s good at times, but also detrimental. Remember, be liberal in making mistakes, it’s what makes you successful.

        If you want to send a chapter for a chapter, that would be great. GOOD LUCK! And, keep plugging away.

    1. Yikes! What the heck am I doing!?!? I don’t actually want anyone to read it… 😮 I’m so confused. Well, I hope it provides at least one moment of entertainment. At the very least, you can laugh at my poor grammar and silted sentences. 😉

  2. I don’t know if you have built a list yet, but this might give you a start.

    Sci-Fi & Fantasy Agents

    Amsterdam Agency, Marcia
    Armstrong Literary Agency, Edward
    Atchity Entertainment International, Inc. (AEI)
    Barron’s Literary Management
    Bova Literary Agency, The Barbara
    Brown, Ltd., Curtis
    Coffey Literary & Media Representation, Nancy
    Communications and Entertainment, Inc.
    D4EO Literary Agency
    Dijkstra Literary Agency, Sandra

    Ellenberg Literary Agency, Ethan
    FinePrint Literary Management
    Folio Literary Management, LLC
    Fox Literary
    Grayson Literary Agency, Ashley
    Grinberg Literary Agency, Jill
    Halston Freeman Literary Agency, Inc.
    Henshaw Group, Richard
    Jabberwocky Literary Agency
    Kidd Agency, Inc., Virginia

    KT Literary, LLC
    KT Public Relations & Literary Services
    Maass Literary Agency, Donald
    Mainhardt Agency, Ricia
    McCarthy Agency, LLC, The
    McCarthy Creative Services
    Millard Literary Agency, Martha
    Miller Co., The Stuart M.
    Mura Literary, Dee
    Perkins Associates, L.

    Qcorp Literary Agency
    Raines & Raines
    Schiavone Literary Agency, Inc.
    Scribe Agency, LLC
    Seligman, Literary Agent, Lynn
    Sherman & Associates, Ken
    Smith, Literary Agent, Valerie
    Spectrum Literary Agency
    Sternig & Byrne Literary Agency
    The Stringer Literary Agency, LLC
    Weiner Literary Agency, Cherry

    1. Are you crazy? I’m not gonna send my creation to an agent! They might actually read it. 😉

      Just joking. Thanks for the list. I have not been compiling a list of my own, so thanks for the start. The thing is, I don’t think I’m ready for that. Maybe after the third or fourth book…

      1. What do you mean, not ready!!!! 🙂 Every Book is worth an attempt at being sold. THIRD or FOURTH book! So is Lorena gonna sit on the Nila E. White book shelf in purgatory because her creator is a little gun shy. NOT FAIR!!! — That’s me speaking for Lorena. Someone has to since your not. LOL!!! 🙂

        Besides the first book is a great opportunity to test the waters to see how you can improve in the eyes of an agent. It will help you for the so called Third and Fourth book syndrome you’ve seemed to have develop.

        By the way, I have read the 1st 300 words and it is very good. I like how you have enticed the reader to want to know what the lump is on her back.

        I have couple items I want to run by you to see what you would think. I’ll be sending you this shortly via your email.

        Have fun!!!

      2. Thank you, T. I wish I had the confidence. I don’t mind putting it out there if no one takes me seriously, but getting an agent means I’d, like, be a professional or something. 😉

Get it out of your system

