The Common Cold

Bronchi and bronchioles. The lungs have been w...
Image via Wikipedia

Today I went to the doctor.

I didn’t get a minute of sleep last night.  Hacking up a lung just kept me awake.  I told my husband to check our life insurance policy.  Make sure it was up to date and paid for.  I wanted to make sure he would be taken care of in case of my ghastly demise – death by phlegm.

New to the area, I didn’t know where to go or who to call.  Because my husband is sick too, but not as bad, we both fumbled through the internet physician directory for about an hour until we threw up our hands and just went to the urgent care facility.

After waiting a bit, the doctor came into the cold room.  Checked my ears, my throat, and listened to my lungs.  In a hoarse whisper, I told her all about my troubles.  How I could barely breathe.  The coughing was racking my body, and that I just need some serious drugs so I could get some sleep.

Looking down at me, concern in her big brown eyes, she said, “It’s just a cold.”

What?  Are you kidding me?  I’m dying here, woman!

She gave me some literature about the common cold.  How it could last days or weeks and that home remedies are really the best and you just have to suffer through it.

No!

I have my novel to complete this month and all the hacking and stuffy head has brought all my efforts to a screeching halt.  It is just not fair.  I want to cry.

(sigh)

Well, I am feeling well enough to write this rant, so maybe tomorrow I’ll feel better and will actually finish my book.  I’m on the friggin last day.  Everything is coming together.  The Marquesa is about to kill all the girls along with Lorena.  Andreas and Trevino are holed up outside of the castle thinking of ways to  storm the place and cause a diversion while Pedro get’s the local aguacil to provide backup while Andreas and Trevino kill Tysimin – the serial killer.

Damn, and I just don’t have the strength to keep my grip on the pencil to write the last bits!

😦

Excuse me, as I go hack up some goobers.

6 thoughts on “The Common Cold

  1. Sorry to hear your under the weather. My wife and daughter had it for a month back in June. I by passed that one luckily but some of the bad stuff is going around. There is really not much you can do. However, I do have a recommendation for you!!!

    This soup is bound to make you get better.

    1 carton of organic vegetable broth,
    1 carton of organic chicken broth,
    1 large onion,
    1 or 2 garlic gloves,
    5 to 7 fresh carrots,

    If you are vegetarian, you can go with 2 vegetable broths.

    Cut the onions and carrots, and mince the garlic.
    Through the onions in a soup pan and saute without butter or oil for about 3 minutes. Through the carrots in and stir letting the carrots warm up for 1 minute. Pour in the broth and toss in the garlic and stir. Bring to a boil and then let simmering for 15 to 20 minutes.

    Then, start eating the soup as much as you want but at least 3 times a day.

    Make more if necessary. This will get you well.

    However, if you don’t use the chicken broth, find a way to add a form of protein during this time to aid in fighting the illness.

    This should take care of you.

    Wish you well!!

    Ansel

      1. No worries – excellent recipe. I saw your recipe/comment and went out and bought a bunch of stuff and had me some SOUP! Sometimes ya just forget the simple stuff, huh? Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

Get it out of your system

