The end is near…

The end of the month, that is.

I’m looking forward to it.  By the end of November, I will be (finally!) done with the first draft of my very first novel.

(I’m vibrating with excitement.)

Thought I’m not officially participating in NaNoWriMo, I’ve taken it upon myself to whip (upcoming pun intended) up a few writers over on SFFWorld.com to finish their WiPs (works in progress) during this National November Writing Month (is that what it stands for?).  And I do have to admit, it is working.  Something about knowing that hundreds of other writers are out there making a concerted effort to finish their own novels is somehow inspirational and motivates one to…well, write.

My daily word count is not what I thought it would be, but I am writing every day and I’m only four story-days away from the end of my novel.  Of course, once completed, it will be time to edit, insert the donkey, layer on the country-side descriptions, fix plot holes, tie all the themes together, correct some character inconsistencies, and so on.

Despite the amount of work that all entails, I can’t wait!

HE, if you’re still out there – get ready for tons more reading to come your way December 1st. 🙂

Word Count (roughly):

10,000 from Nov 1st to Nov 11th, 2010

41,500 from June, 2009 to Oct 31st, 2010

Total: 51,500

10 thoughts on “The end is near…

  1. NaNoWriMo == National Novel Writing Month, it just happens to be November every year because you’re practically guaranteed to spend most of it indoors (rather than, say, July). December is NaNoEdMo, in case you’re interested in spending a month editing what you just spent a month writing 😉

    I didn’t participate in NaNo either this year, but I am working on something. It’d be nice to get to 50k by the end of the month, but we’ll see.

    1. Oh! I knew it was something like that, but I was too lazy to go look it up. I forget things like that…

      Really? NaNoEdMo? I didn’t think they could come up with something else to torture us with…

      Working on something new? Awesome! Would love to read it sometime. 🙂

  2. That is awesome! I remember over a year ago that you have been working on your book. Keep it up. Can’t wait to read a few chapters. Congrads!

    I just made my first submission to an Archaeological Magazine for my King Tut story. I change some things about it but will see how it goes! 🙂

    1. Hey T! Yes, it has been a long time coming.

      Congrats on the submission! It’s a hard thing to put your babies out there to be judge in the harsh light of day. Good luck! 🙂

      1. Hey, I received my very first rejection. It could be the fast rejection ever. It was pretty much with-in 7 hours. Well you know about my King Tut, An Authentic Smell story. I love the line that says, “not publishing these types of stories.” Makes me think of the high society guy talking while thing went down.

        I flipped it and submitted to MAD Magazine.

        I figured I would share my first ever rejection with you! 🙂

        _________________________

        Dear Mr. Knemeyer,

        Thank you for your submission. Unfortunately, American Archaeology doesn’t publish these types of stories. good luck placing it elsewhere.

        Michael Bawaya

  3. Sorry Bad speech writing on my last post.

    How’s the final few days coming for your book? Can’t wait to hear about it.

Get it out of your system

