NaNoWriMo is Coming!

 

240/365 National Novel Writing Month begins
Image by owlbookdreams via Flickr

 

Can you believe November is just around the corner?

I decided to join NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) this year in the hopes of spurring me into finishing my novel.  The whole premise of writing a novel in a month is absurd.  I mean, who honestly believes they can write a novel of 50,000 words in just 30 days?

Well, apparently, over 165,000 people. 😮

Do all of ’em finish?  I doubt it.  Will I finish my half-baked historical/fantasy novel about a 15th century zoographer trying to catch a human-bat during the upheaval of the Spanish inquisition?  Maybe.  Maybe not.

But I’m sooooo excited!!

I don’t care if it’s absurd (as is my novel), I’m gonna try! 😀

Wish me luck. (Please.  I’ll need it.)

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo is Coming!

  1. A lot do finish, but not all. I’m a slow typist, and not an especially fast thinker, but I finished with a complete 70,000 word novel last year. I don’t know if you’re aware of the rules, but it would be a violation to count the words you’ve already written. Some people do use the energy of NaNo to complete something they’ve written previously, but they start their word count with the new material. Of course, there’s a rebel forum for those who don’t want to stay strictly within the rules. It’s an honor system, so welcome to NaNo, however you use it.

    1. Hello Catana!

      No, I’m not aware of all the rules, but I hadn’t intended to use my 37,000 words so far to go towards the required 50k. I expect the novel to finish at around 75,000 to 80,000 and was hoping that using something like NaNo would get me through to the end. If the novel finishes before the required 50,000, then I’ll use my query letter, synopsis, blurb, etc to get the word count up so that I’ll finish officially for NaNo. At least, that’s what I’m thinking right now. Then again, the novel may end up at a total of 100k (please no!) and I’ll still won’t be finished!

      Anyway, thanks for stopping by. Will you be participating this year?

Get it out of your system

