Rejection

I’ve been thinking about my latest rejection – all night long. Yeah, it is hard to get a rejection but what is even harder is not knowing why.

Was it because I sent in the file with Courier font instead of Times New Roman?

Was it because I failed to follow instructions and submit the story single spaced and not doubled?

Was it the typos?

Was it the poor sentence structure and/or lack of flow?

Was it the poor story outline and lack of plot?

Was it the content?

The rape?

The foul language?

Or was it just because they didn’t like it? That it didn’t fit what they were looking for?

All of the above?

None of the above?

I’ll never know. All I can do is put it out there and move on. Crit groups do help. I can at least eliminate the bad writing with practice and find things out about myself as a writer. I honestly wouldn’t have guessed that my material is X rated.

Live and learn (and full of cliches ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

Later,
tmso

8 thoughts on “Rejection

  1. Don’t Worry, Be Happy! – Sorry I was wallowing in my own misery with my pitiful job, that has employee crap going on. Enjoy the rejection, its better to receive one instead of none. Now that would really blow. Oh! Sorry I had to stop myself, I was feeling a little X going on if you know what I mean. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Oh – is your daughter’s name Megan? Very nice! How old is she now? Is she ready for school yet? Pre-school?

    1. Funny boy!

      Sorry about the job, I know how that can be. Hope it sorts itself out without too much effort on your part. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Hi,

        Yeah she is 3 and a fun little girl. She’s going to be starting a co-op preschool this year. It’s where the mothers or fathers, mostly mothers to be honest, help with the school teaching and all. It’s a lot of work for the mom, but this way my wife gets to be with her a few more years and monitor the school to make sure Megan is getting what she needs. Most of my life I have been a firm believer in the public school system, but now that I have a child I see it through parents eyes and I wonder if a form of private school is better than public. It’s a tough decision, more than I anticipated it to be.

        Thanks, the job is what it is. Have a great day!
        T. Ansel Knemeyer

      2. Whatever you decide, as long as she is safe, I’m sure she’ll come out all right. Take me for example: a pooduck of the Calyfornica pubic skol sistem. Coold bi wurst. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Get it out of your system

