XXX

I want to talk about sex. Particularly, violent sex or rape. Here’s my question: how do you know when you’ve gone too far? When is something considered R rated or even X rated?

As a new writer, I try my best to follow the advice of “show, don’t tell”. Maybe to my detriment?

Someone I respect mentioned that my latest piece probably ended up in the slush pile because it was X rated. Yikes!! Something I wrote?

If you met me, you’d quickly get the impression that I am a prude. And, I am! Seriously. But I often write about rape (let’s not talk about why) and I do not shy away from describing the reality of rape nor do I shy away from using words that I think describe it well, like cunt or cock.

So when I wrote my latest story, I didn’t give its content a second thought and submitted it without getting some opinions from my peers.

Is my story X rated? I don’t think so, but if I read a story that had a rape, a couple of murders, and a brief sex scene (heterosexual, between consenting young ‘uns), weeeelllll maybe I would think it was at least R rated. But come on, the story is about a vampire! Doesn’t that genre kind of fall on the R to X rated side of things?

How do you know when you’ve gone too far?

Get it out of your system

