Rejection

Just got rejected…again. (sigh)

When I first started submitting my (horrible) work to magazines, I expected to get rejected.  Come on, did I really think editors would see my brilliance through all the typos, grammar goofs, stilted prose, and incoherent plots?  Of course not!  I knew my stories were just barely that, but hopefully, I thought, I would improve with all the sage advice I would garner from all those editors.

So naive.

Enter the rejection form letter (altered to protect the innocent):

Dear Pathetic Writer,

Thank you for submitting your story. Unfortunately, we have decided not to publish it. To date, we have reviewed many strong stories that we did not take. Either the fit was wrong or we’d just taken tales with a similar theme or any of a half dozen other reasons.

Best success selling this story elsewhere.

Take care,

The Editors

What?  I don’t care that you’re not gonna print it!  Did you like it?  Did you think it was written by an adult with an adequate grasp of the English language?  Or did you think your dog Fido could have done better?  What do you think I could improve upon?  Was it the foul language?  Bad pacing?  POV problems?  Did you even read it?

Since we are talking about a flash fiction piece, they probably read the first few lines and, if it didn’t grab them, it got chucked.  Or, with this particular piece, they read the first ‘fuck’ and decided it wasn’t for them.  To be fair, this rejection form letter is probably the longest rejection form letter I have ever gotten.

Ah well, all I can say is that at least the sting of rejection is finally gone.  At least, I think so.  I don’t get nearly as upset as I used to.  I only sobbed into a dozen or so tissues rather than the whole box. 😉

Get it out of your system

