There are some things worse than rejection

Like an acceptance.

The other day, I was pleasantly surprised to receive a notification that my princess story was accepted for the next issue of Mystic Signals.

It made my day, let me tell you. No, not just my day, my week!

I mean, it’s not like it got accepted at Tor.com or anything, but I was very happy.

Until I realized my short story would be published, and that someone might read it.

Someone other than my loyal beta readers. Someone other than my die-hard workshop critique partners. Someone other than my friends and family.

Someone who will read it, think it is horrible, and tell everyone they know to NEVER READ ANYTHING BY N. E. WHITE - EVER.

Yes, they’ll use bold, italics, all caps like that.

And, yes, there is something worse than rejection.

doubt

28 thoughts on “There are some things worse than rejection

  1. Congratulations!! I’m sure it will be well-received, but I understand what you’re saying. We feel vulnerable when our stuff is out there, especially early on. We just have to remember to focus on the good feedback, too. There’s usually much more good than bad, and yet as human beings, we do a marvelous job of zeroing in on the bad!

    1. Hello Carrie,

      Thanks so much for stopping by. And you are right. We do zero in on the negative. It hasn’t even come out and that’s what I’m thinking about: what horrible things will readers say?

      I guess, the worse that can happen will be that no one will say anything. It won’t even get read. So…I should be looking forward to a bad review!

      Ah…the logic is illogical. :)

    1. Yes, it is!

      I submitted it, I think after you read it. I made a few changes, but not much. Not as much as I probably should have.

      Anyway, I can’t change it now. I guess that’s why it bugs me. I know I can make it better. But, we can always make it better, right? Gotta stop at some point and move on.

      By the way, I finished Necromancer’s Bones. I was disappointed in the ending (sort of), but I enjoyed it. Good stuff. I will be passing this one and Magister’s Mask onto my nieces and nephews.

      1. Yes, I do understand. There is this undercurrent that writers should somehow be only interested in the creation and all that high brow stuff associated with the craft.
        I say this is important, but there’s nothing wrong with making big bucks too.
        As becoming a successful author is all about getting published and selling books, then every time your are in print you are increasing your success.

    1. That’s what I thought at first, but then…maybe she didn’t have any other choice, you know?

      Bah! I just have to stop thinking like that and move on to the next story. Thanks for your words of encouragement.

  2. Hey don’t be hard on yourself! You know what you want and like as a reader and I am sure you have tapped into that. It might be very well-received!

  3. Congratulations!! That’s wonderful. The fact that you got it out there is a victory in itself. Of course there will always be critics, pay them no mind. As Jean Sibelius said, “Pay no attention to what the critics say. A statue has never been erected in honor of a critic.”

    1. Ha! Too true, but I’m a critic, too! I review for SFFWorld.com. I’m sure some of the things I’ve said about other authors will come back to haunt me.

      Thank you for the congratulations and for stopping by. :)

  4. Okay Nila… Do you feel that? That’s me reaching through the screen and grabbing your shoulders and shaking you and saying, “Holy crap!!! That’s so awesome!!!” If we could all be so lucky to be subject to such potential judgement… :D

    1. Shaken and stirred. I know, I shouldn’t complain, but it is in my nature. Just this weekend, my mom was saying, “Why can’t you write something with a happy ending?” I said, “Because there are no happy endings.” Then I thought about it and realized I was wrong. I’m such a pessimist. Of course there are happy endings. I will endeavor to write a happy story.

      1. Yeah, well I do empathize with your viewpoint as I have similar leanings. That’s why it’s good to have others around you to help recognize the awesomeness that you have achieved. :)

  5. Congrats and remember that it is pretty unlikely that someone will hate your story and be vocal about it…unless you have thousands upon thousands of readers. In that case you may hit a popularity point in which you get a “hate” review or e-mail.

    In which case, pat yourself on the back, because you have MADE IT. Enjoy your success.

    1. You know, you are absolutely right. The usual response is silence. I don’t know why I get these crazy notions in my head.

      Oh, by the way, I have been reading your chapters! I look forward to the release so I can read it properly on my Nook or Kindle (I hate reading on my computer, so hurry up!). :)

  6. Ha! Thanks for the note. I’m working on it. Had some hold-ups, and now a computer problem. But the book is coming. You can be sure of that. I think you’ll get a kick out of the Hammerblood prequel short stories. I know I’m having a blast writing them.

    1. Oh, you are sooooo naive.

      It’s okay, though. I hear ya. I need to stay positive! I will. Promise. :)

      Ug and I need to post something to this blog. It’s been ages.

Get it out of your system

