The Writing Process (Blog-Hop!)

Last week, I got tagged by the wonderful Emmie Mears in a blog hop. Go check her out, she’s cool and she’s got a book coming out soon from Harlequin E!

So, what’s this blog hop all about? you may ask. And I may answer, something as important as air and water to writers: the writing process.

Of course, like all bodies of water and air, the writing process is varied and mysterious. Let’s explore mine!

1) What are you currently working on?

A science fiction story about a woman given the chance to start a new species but chooses to save an old one instead.

2) How does your work differ from others in the genre?

I write from the perspective of a minority, and I try to infuse my fiction with the diversity of characters I see every day in my life.

3) Why do you write what you write?

The dog will eat me.

4) How does your process work?

It doesn’t.

Eek! I shouldn’t admit that, huh?

I have managed to write three books. Two of which were about the same character, his story just kept changing! However, I wouldn’t say any of those efforts are worthy of your time to read them. So, detailing how I went about writing them probably isn’t all that helpful.

I’m still learning, but I do know that a combination of outlining my story and allowing the characters to interact and find their own path is the way that works best for me now.

But that’s just me – an unsuccessful writer. You might want to check out these folks (listed below) who happen to have gotten it right.

Until next time, write well.

11 thoughts on “The Writing Process (Blog-Hop!)

  1. Ha, love your answer to #4. I think it takes a bit of practice to get our process down. Good to try various methods so that after we have a few books under our belts, we’ll have a better idea of what works for us.

  2. Every time I hear a writer refer to herself as “unsuccessful,” I wince. What’s your definition of success? Being a millionaire best-selling literary icon shouldn’t be the only thing we consider as successful.

    You said that you’ve completed two books. Isn’t that success? You’re still working to improve your skills — in other words, you haven’t quit. No author ever became an icon without those two qualities: finishing what you start, and not giving up.

    In some careers it’s important to “dress for the job you want to have.” We writers, whose tools are words, can’t call ourselves “failures” or “wanna bes.” We have to speak of ourselves as the future icons we hope to become.

    Besides, I’ve read your stuff. You’re not a failure!

    1. Thank you! And you are very very right that we should define success in measurable (and achievable) terms.

      For me, success would be writing a novel I’m happy with – happy with both how the story reads, what message it imparts, and its execution. Whether it gets published (or how) doesn’t matter too much (though I’d be lying if I say I didn’t care if it got published or not), but being happy with the result is what I’m really going after right now. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it), I am my worst critic. :)

      Oh! And you should be on that list, too. Plumb forgot. I won’t make that mistake in future.

Get it out of your system

